Labyrinth


The Goblin King in Escher's Relativity-ish

I know what you are thinking. “Megan loves her some David Bowie so this is some odd ode to the Goblin King.” It was from watching Labyrinth over and over and over and over again that I started to wonder why the movie wasn’t called Maze. What’s the distinction? There must be one, right? There is. The movie Labyrinth has it wrong (look, I don’t like it any more than you do). It uses the incorrect definition and suggests that labyrinths and mazes are the same. They are not. They are similar but certainly not the same. The maze is intended to trick and confuse you. It is a puzzle. It has wrong turns and dead ends.

Seven Circuit Labyrinth

The labyrinth is a single path to the center and back. The labyrinth is not intended to be difficult to navigate. The labyrinth is very often used and seen today as a meditative tool by those embarking on their spiritual journey. So for a while now I have been focused on this idea of the spiritual journey of the labyrinth and what it means to me as I’m doing this thing called life over here.

What I’ve made of this in my life is simple. If who I am is nothing more than the choice I make in the next moment, then I’ll make a choice every time there is one to be made. It’ll just be a choice and then I’ll continue on the path of that choice until I arrive in another place with another choice. My choices simply are. My life simply is. There isn’t right. There isn’t wrong. There just is. Or…will be…
About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

2 thoughts on “Labyrinth

  1. Lee Travis says:

    I like your blog Megan…very cool.

  2. Thanks, Lee. It really means a lot that this doesn’t seem to be falling short of my mark…at least not yet.

What Say You?

