Sick of Vick


“He’s really come a long way. I don’t like what he did, but you have to admit he’s really turned his life around.”

A woman uttered these words at the dogpark tonight. I nearly chewed off my tongue until she said “It’s not his fault. All he ever knew was dog fighting. It’s what he grew up with.” And then I stopped stopping myself. Bullshit.

It’s the beginning of the season so I’m going to do this once and be done with it.

I do not care if it’s “all he ever knew”. I do not care if it’s “what he grew up with”. At some point in our lives we grow up and we learn right from wrong and we make our choices for how we will live our lives. At some point, we realize that the activity in which we are engaged, if it is dog fighting, is wrong nay ILLEGAL. If at that point you still do it, encourage it, engage in it, or merely allow it to happen around you then you have made your bed. Now lie in it.

Am I to applaud him for every day he does not kill an innocent animal for poor performance? Am I suppose to be sad that he is not allowed to live with dogs?

He served his sentence, he did not wipe the slate clean.

That’s what I have to say about what he did.

Here is what I have to say about his continued success as a professional athlete.

Michael Vick is a convicted felon. I will repeat this for those of you who missed it. MICHAEL VICK…IS…A…CONVICTED…FELON. I don’t particularly care how good he is at his job. He is not the first quarterback to grace the field, nor will he be the last. There are tens of thousands of young men out there who would love the opportunity to play professional football who have not been convicted of heinous acts. Give them the chance to play.

Professional athletes have served as heroes and inspiration to so many of us. Having a role model or someone worth aspiring to is critical to our growth. Especially the growth and development of children. We should want our children to look up to someone who worked hard, lived well, and showed them that they can do anything if they put their minds to it.

All I think about when I see Michael Vick is that this man killed, read the apology written by his publicist, will pocket $100 million dollars in the next 6 years, and hear his name cheered by adoring fans.

What the hell kind of lesson is that?

I’ve been asked “Where’s your forgiveness?” Someone must have strangled it, drowned it, and smashed it to the ground when it failed to forgive the way I wanted it to.

 

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

One thought on “Sick of Vick

  1. Tabatha says:

    I couldnt have written this better myself. My thoughts exactly. It disgusts me when I hear people say “he has really changed, he’s doing good now.” He is a terrible person and does not deserve one penny for playing sports. He would still be in jail if it were up to me.

What Say You?

