Spaghetti Squash Primavera


This is one of my favorite Weight Watcher’s recipes. I have made it so often over the past few years that I could do it with my eyes closed. I had never heard of Spaghetti Squash (also called Winter Squash) before I encountered this recipe. The squash is so named because after it is cooked when you scoop out (rather, “fork-out”) the meat of the squash it comes out in thin, spaghetti-like strings. This dish is completely, 100% vegetable and as such, incredibly filling.

Ingredients:

1 spaghetti squash

1 vidalia onion, chopped

1 green bell pepper, chopped

1 diced zucchini (green squash)

1 chopped head of broccoli

15 oz can tomato sauce

15 oz can diced tomato, drained

4 oz can tomato paste

1 cup baby spinach

1 garlic clove, minced

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

What to do with it all:

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Half spaghetti squash length-wise and scoop out seeds. Lightly coat a cookie sheet with olive oil and place each half, flat-side down. Cook for 25-30 minutes. When done, set aside to cool. In large pan heat 2 tbsp of olive oil and saute onion, green pepper, and broccoli for about 5 minutes or until tender. Add garlic and zucchini and cook until tender. To vegetables add diced tomato, sauce, and paste and bring to simmer. Using a fork, remove spaghetti squash from rind. Add spaghetti and baby spinach to simmering sauce and toss to coat with sauce.

TA! DA!

When selecting your spaghetti squash look for a pale yellow, ivory, or light orange rind with a dull sheen.

Comments on the dish from the food critics in my life

Like I said, this is one of my favorite dishes. I’ve made it for numerous groups of family and friends. (I think it’s a pretty darn wonderful substitute for carbolicious-pasta). My dad was really surprised at how much it didn’t suck and really “kinda tasted just like a regular spaghetti dish.” Wayne and Jenev weren’t totally impressed and weren’t in love with the crunchiness of the “noodles”. I liken it to eating pasta al dente which, if I’m not mistaken, is the preferred way of preparing pasta by most people in the food world. Jason, my roommate who has charged me with helping him lose some weight and get healthy, said “I thought I would hate it but I don’t hate it”.

So there you have it…it doesn’t suck and you might not hate it.

Er…enjoy?!?

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

What Say You?

