Banola Bars


I don’t even plead originality. I was bopping around the internet a few months back looking for ideas to eat good stuffs and happened across the blog: Raw is Sexy. The raw food diet isn’t for me but it follows the clean eating approach so I took a gander at some recipes and I fell upon one for Granola Bars.

Now, I had stopped eating granola bars a year or so ago because regardless of the low-calorie, high fiber benefits…I wasn’t comfortable with how sweet and sticky they were. I was positive that was stuff I just didn’t need. But I love granola bars and they are really a pretty fantastic snack. So when I found this recipe, I committed it to memory and I make a batch every few weeks or so.

I’ve actually really bare bones’d my version because I’m lazy but it works for me.

Bare Bones Ingredients

2 bananas

1 heaping tablespoon of your nut butter of choice (cashew, for me)

2 c. old-fashioned rolled oats

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

The Rest o’ the Ingredients

Whate’er the hell you want

I’ve added chocolate morsels, sunflower seeds, kiwi, fresh coconut, almonds, honey, or drizzled ’em with white chocolate. Whatever I had in the kitchen and felt like putting in. You will see Lauren’s ingredients are more daring and she makes her protein bars.

What to do with it all

Mash bananas, mix in nut butter, stir in oats, salt, cinnamon, and whatever else you want. Place mixture in a square container lined with plastic wrap and flatten with a fork. Harden in freezer for about 30 minutes. Cut, wrap, enjoy!

Topped with Kiwi

Comments on the dish from the food critics in my life

I make them all the time and I think they are pretty damn fantastic!!

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

What Say You?

