Overnight Oats


My grandmother used to tell me stories about how she’d do her sisters chores in return for Aunt Cass not ratting her out to her mom (my great-grandmother a fearsome woman named, Barbara) for flushing her disgusting oatmeal down the toilet. It was the depression and you just didn’t waste food. Everytime I sit down with a bowl of oatmeal, I think of this story of my gran’mas. It makes me laugh.

I love oatmeal. I’ve always eaten it hot because that’s how it’s done. Recently, I was bopping around the world-wide webs and found yet another blogger talking about healthy ways to eat yummy foods and I snagged her recipe for overnight oats.

I’m not gonna bother with the “how to”s for this one because I’m linking her page and it’s pretty simple and pretty straight forward. Here was the bowl I ate this morning while I sat outside watching the sun come up as the girls romped in the back yard before work.

Sorry for the flash...it was 5:45a

Comments on the dish from the food critics in my life

I’m the critic again on this one. I think it’s flipping fantastic. It’s pretty fool-proof, amazingly simple, and keeps me going so I don’t fall face first into the vending machine and its contraband. (Do you notice I never “eat” I only fall face first into things? It’s not a pretty sight, me eating, that is…LOL).

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

What Say You?

