Analaigh


Breathing is the most natural thing we do. Breathing is what keeps us alive. It is when I began to climb that I truly learned what it meant to breathe.

The breath comes naturally. We don’t have to think about it. We don’t have to think about it but amazing things happen when we do.

200 feet off the ground, tied to a rope, protected by metal, fabric, a trusted friend, and your ability to keep your wits about you. You are tired, exhausted really, your fingers hurt, your toes are cramping, your calves are strained, your forearms are burning, fear is coming on fast and now your legs begin to shake uncontrollably. Stop. Breathe. Focus. Breathe. Relax. Breathe.

Each breath fills your starving blood with much needed oxygen and the shakes lessen. Each breath fills your waning spirit with confidence and reminds you that you’ve done this before, you can do it again, and if you can’t your catch awaits you.

Another screaming match. Another slammed door. More angry, furious words and tears of utter frustration. You want to punch a wall. You want to scream and kick. You want to rip someone’s freaking head off. Stop. Breathe. Focus. Breathe. Relax. Breathe.

Life could not teach me this.

But climbing could.

Life continues to show me how to breathe on purpose.

Roughly pronounced ah-nah-lee is the Irish Gaelic command “breathe.”

Breathe : Analaigh

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

6 thoughts on “Analaigh

  1. addielicious says:

    Amazing how the way we breathe, exhalation and inhalation, gives away a great deal about the way we live life. This post has made me realize that exhalation doesn’t only mean emptying ourselves of carbon dioxide – it also means letting go of old feelings and tensions that are no longer of great use to us, nor does inhalation only mean regenerating oxygen – it also means allowing ourselves the freedom to take in new perspective on things around us. I don’t do activities like climbing, but tomorrow before I leave for work I shall remember this post and be more conscious of my breathing.

    And oh, I had been pronouncing Analeigh with a long /a/ at the end. It should be long /e/. Thanks for the pronunciation tip.

    • Absolutely, Addie. People laugh at my tattoo and always ask “In case you forget?” It’s not so much a reminder because I might forget but a reminder to do it on purpose. When I’m scared, angry, frustrated, excited, sad, hopeful, hopeless. It’s grounding. It helps to quiet the noise. It helps put the focus where it needs to be. At least for me… it is how I have gotten through every “how do I get through this?” moment.

  2. Juan Busy says:

    That’s why when we’re taking too many hard blows in life, friends would tell us “You need a breather, buddy.” I used to have this habit of “breathing.” I would lie on my bed with my fingers interlocked under my head and I would stare at the ceiling for a long time, lights off. Either I’d think about my future or do nothing but stare at the ceiling. One time my sister saw me and told me that I look so carefree and happy and that I should do it every day. The Internet took me away from that habit. I think I should do it again. 😀

  3. Stephanie says:

    I have a tattoo on my wrist that says Analaigh. People do the same thing to me, “in case you forget?” Haha so funny. -_- I’m glad there is someone out there that understands the power behind such a simple word.

    • That’s great! Mine is just the word “Breathe” and people can be so literal. I named my first dog Analaigh. It’s a beautiful word. It can seem a silly thing because it’s such a natural thing but breathing is so very much more than air in, air out! Thanks for commenting!!!

What Say You?

