Crag Dog


Bzzz

Mama’s sounding alarm

It is early morning

Our eyes open slowly

Downward facing dog

Yawn

Sniff

Mama’s coffee is ready

Bags are in the hall

Daylight is breaking

A door creaks open

A car starts its engine

Let’s go!

Windows are down

Music is blaring

Smiling widely as cars go by 

Parking lots are empty

We are the first ones here!

Packs are snapped into place

The hike begins

We run ahead to check for danger

I run back to check for Mama

Birds are chased

Sticks are gnawed

Sun is shining

A puppy’s dream

The hike is stopped

Packs are removed 

How silly they look

They don silly shoes

They snap on silly helmets

They double back silly pants-holder-uppers

They are silly humans

Belays are on

Climbs away

Wait!? Where did Mama go?!

Mama is not here

She is every moment farther

She is tied to a rope

I am abandoned forever

Mmmm::cry::Mmmm

She descends slowly

Feet hit the ground

Mama you left us (me)

Eyes begin to droop

Packs are reassembled

The hike begins homeward

Rose runs ahead

She is always in front

I am here with Mama

Finally back to the car

All day was spent in wonderland

But the engine is a welcome sound

Brake lights are off

Zzzzzzz

by Analaigh

I’m re-posting this for Analaigh I like to support my girls in whatever they like to do. My sweet Analaigh is a poet.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

3 thoughts on “Crag Dog

  1. addielicious says:

    Finally by Analaigh! And a poetic one at that. A mama’s girl I think I can identify myself with her more. 😀

  2. Love Analaigh’s writing 🙂 Extra love the backseat snoozing pups.

What Say You?

