Just Another Pot-Luck Vegetable Dish


I hadn’t stepped foot in the kitchen in 5 days. Four of those days I was dreadfully ill and didn’t move farther from my bed than the back door to let the girls outside. The fifth day was my first day back in the land of the living and all I wanted at the end of my day was to crawl back into bed and pull the covers over my head.

Today was day 6. The day I must get my rear in gear. My aim was to assess the contents of the refrigerator and throw out my sadly expired deliciousness (insert sad face).

Thank god for Ziploc Double Zipper Freezer Bags. Seriously.

What I ended up doing with everything, instead of tossing out, was chopping up and throwing in a saute pan. It still shocks and amazes me when good smells waft through my kitchen.

Ingredients

4 scrubbed and cubed Golden potatoes (they’re so adorable)

1/4 (ish) vidalia onion, diced

1/3 (ish) red pepper, diced

1 head of broccoli, chopped

1 zucchini, cubed

1 carrot, chopped

some olive oil

salt to taste

pepper to taste

crushed red peppers to taste

2 iceberg lettuce leaves

What to do with it all

Nothing was prepped. This was an on the fly thing so I went in order of how long they take to cook (by my estimation). Heat oil in pan and add potatoes. While they were cookin’ I started prepping the onion and set it aside. When the potatoes started looking mostly cooked I added the onions. Then did the peppers and when onions were translucent, added ’em. Next was broccoli, then zucchini, then because I wanted more color…carrots. Add a little salt. Add a lot of pepper. Add a super lot of crushed red peppers.

I’ve seen collard greens used before as wraps. I really wanted a burrito. I used the iceberg I had instead.

Nom!

Comments on the dish from the food critics in my life

Man! Sometimes it is so easy to make food that smells great and tastes great that I don’t feel guilty for shovelling into my pie hole (and I mean s-h-o-v-e-l-l-i-n-g into my pie hole). By the time I finally sat down to eat (after getting home from work, standing in the yard for an hour or so playing with the girls, and getting straight to work in the kitchen) no way was I getting off my bum to get that forgotten fork from the drawer. I wrapped everything good and tight in the lettuce and inhaled until it was gone. I wasn’t totally happy about the flavor of the lettuce but it didn’t bother me enough to stop eating. It was delicious and I’m almost jealous of my lunch tomorrow.

I was super happy with it visually, too. I love the colors! Woot!

And none of my veggies were wasted! Double Woot!

Also…you should know…I’m not a chef or a cook. I don’t even play one on TV. I’m just someone who uses a knife (often to the detriment of my thumb) and adds heat (hopefully a Goldilocks amount of heat). So to me, chopped means larger than diced which is larger than minced.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

What Say You?

