My Project 365: A Dog A Day


Happy New Year, folks!

Party hats have been cast off. Noise makers have been quietly put away.

Love, The Girls

I am left with the thought:

“What will this year bring? What can I do differently? What can I do better?”

I have a lot of plans for this year. Plans to get myself unstuck. Plans that will be me, the woman I am today, directing the course of my life instead of meandering along the path selected by a woman I barely know anymore.

But this one… This one is not for me. This one is for them. This idea is not my own. It is borrowed from the Dog A Day Campaign that Shorty Rossi (from Pit Boss on Animal Planet) has committed to on Facebook. On my own page I am friends with numerous pit bull rescues and advocates. I see the sad faces of many dogs and I share and share again but I am certain that by now, none of my friends even look anymore…and still the sad, abandoned, mistreated faces appear in my feed.

My Project 365: A Dog A Day

I will select a dog a day to share here.

A dog that is sheltered or fostered in the continental US.

A dog that needs a loving home.

A dog that wants a second chance.

Carola

STATUS: AVAILABLE FOR ADOPTION AT MANHATTAN AC&C

[shelter info at bottom of post]

Meet CAROLA!!! ID# 0920283

Female

5 years old

About 35 lbs

Found tied to a fence

 A volunteer writes:  I had to meet Carola today as everyone was talking about her – staff and other volunteers.  In looking at her pictures, she looks so serious and aloof and that is so the opposite of how she really is.  She is all tail wagging wiggly butt, welcoming her human at her kennel door, tail wagging a mile a minute, big smile, saying ‘yippee, I’m going OUT!’.  Carola is a pocket pittie, and a throw away mom.  Her teats are still swollen from her recent litter, her pups not coming in with her.  Carola was found tied to a fence, so it would seem that she was bred for her pups and then abandoned.  She seems to be housetrained and is a super friendly girl.  Her tail never stops wagging, she never stops greeting people as we walked, and she seems to welcome the attention of other dogs.  We passed a stray cat in the park, and she just stopped and watched it, tail wagging appropriately, not pulling or lunging towards it.  Maybe she likes cats??  Carola jumped up on the bench to sit beside me, giving me little kisses, and leaning into me in appreciation of some serious petting.  She is an awesome little girl in need of a family to call her own.  Ask to meet this rock star little girl today.

This dog is located at the Manhattan AC&C (326 E 110th Street, NYC 10029). Please act quickly and GO DIRECTLY TO THE SHELTER to adopt (open 7 days per week from 8AM-7PM, adoptions opens at noon). If the dog is on the euthanasia list, you must CALL THE SHELTER to let them know that you are coming (212-722-4939 keep hitting 0 until someone picks up. Do not leave a message when the recording picks up — keep hitting 0 until your hear a voice!). If you absolutely cannot get to the shelter, please contact participating rescue groups to see if they can assist you: http://www.animalalliancenyc.org/about/apos/atoz.htm.

On behalf of the dog before you, THANK YOU!

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

4 thoughts on “My Project 365: A Dog A Day

  1. Fluffy Tufts says:

    What a great idea! 🙂

  2. Addie says:

    This is a wonderful idea, Megan. Not many people would even care one bit for our canine friends, but you do. And you’re giving more by doing this. I will for sure be following. All the best. 😀

    • Thanks, Addie. I’m not sure how much I can do but the information is now out there (again) and it’s searchable.

      I was giddy with excitement when I saw that Day 3 pup, June, had been tweeted 3 times.

What Say You?

