My7DayDiet: Day 8


It is finished. I made it. I did pretty good and I feel really great.

I’m glad that I did this. Throughout the week there’ve been a few people poking at me and giving me a hard time for doing what they see as a fad diet. I don’t see it that way. I’ve been increasingly frustrated at my inability to eat conveniently or the foods that I really love (read: beans, all of them). When I came down with the stomach bug I didn’t go to the grocery store for nearly 2 weeks and when I finally felt a little bit better I didn’t want to think about it or work it out so I gave a big “Up yours” to my dietary restraints decided I’d rather deal with the migraines and stomach pains and ate what I wanted. I became almost immediately more sluggish and lazy with low affect. This is the cycle of Megan: 90% obsessing over the tiniest detail, 10% “whatever, man.”

It never lasts long anymore these moments of total surrender because I know better. I know how it makes me feel. I know how I want to feel. Aaaaand, I know how to make it better.

I wasn’t looking for a quick fix. A diet. There isn’t some dress that I was too heifferous to zip up a week ago but now, by jove, it fits perfectly. I needed to clean my body from the assault of soy that lives in everything, barley from falling face first into sandwich trays, and the other chemical names littering ingredient lists found on cardboard boxes that don’t sound all that nutritious. I just wanted to clean myself up. It’s a new year. I’ve got things to do. And so I have done: I’m detoxed.

Someone said to me today, “You can’t fix your problems with a fad diet. You need to change your lifestyle.” Well, thank you Mr. McDonald’s favorite customer for your profound words of insight. I know this, I’ve done this, I had a bad few weeks, now shut up and eat your burger and fries.

Here’s the recap…

Day 1: Fruit

Natural way to normalize the body. Intended to help prepare the body for the upcoming days. Fruits are low in calorie and fat free and also quickly digesting so this day helps flush your system and enhance the detox process.

Remember to eat as much as you want. Start with melon which will fill you up. Abandon your eating schedule like I forgot to. If you don’t keep your stomach well fed, you will feel hungry. Berries are great to keep with you to snack.

Day 2: Vegetables

Start the day with a baked potato. Since the fruits from the previous day are likely digested, a potato ensures you have the energy you need to start the day.  The fiber activates your system for the detox while the vitamin and mineral rich foods give you much needed nutrients.

Super filling vegetables like broccoli and kale will help keep you feeling full. Salad with a kale base is a great option. Keep carrots and celery handy to snack on as you go through your day.

Day 3: Fruits and Vegetables

Combining the fast digesting fruits and the fiberous and nutrious vegetables. Your body is getting completely natural nutrition; no refined carbohydrates, saturated fats, or artificial flavors.

Same as before, just make sure you stay well fed. Find the snacks that work for you. Eat as much as you want. Try not to let yourself get hungry or you will hurt someone rushing to a delicious pastry puff in the lunchroom.

Day 4: Bananas and Milk

This day makes up for reduced calcium and potassium in your system from the first few days. The bananas are also great for you energy by way of carbohydrates and continued fiber to help with digestion. You can have up to 8 bananas and 3 glasses of fat-free milk.

My favoritest day of the week. Make a milkshake, frozen smoothie, or icecream. When you feel like you are cheating you can saucily look at your friends eating carrot sticks and brag that it’s all milkshakes, all day for you! I’d have one and when I just started feeling hungry again, made another.

Day 5: Protein and Tomatoes

Today makes up for reduced protein in your diet and tomatoes are great for fiber, lycopene, and helping flush out the system.

Protein never tasted so good! Try not to cheat with ketchup and actually eat a tomato. I’m a sissy. I make no bones about it. I did what I had to do to get through the day.

Day 6: Protein and Vegetables

Similar to day 5 but eat as many vegetables as possible. You should start feeling the effects of the week today.

I did feel the effects today. Coffee-free for 7 days and there was pep-in-my-step by 5am. This day food-wise should be easy enough to figure out. Remember though, stay full.  

Day 7: Fruit, Vegetables, and Juice

Start the day out with fruit as you may be feeling week from a lack of carbohydrates over the past 2 days. The aim is the same as Day 3, combining  the power of fruits and vegetables. Today you can enjoy the additional benefits of nutrient rich vegetable juice in a highly concentrated form.

I made it! My mindset has thankfully shifted back to what I consider normal. I’m excited to restock the house with good eats and try out some new recipes. I feel recommitted to clean eating again. With a few bumps, the week has been free of processed food and I was satisfied and I feel good.

So there you have it…My7DayDiet. It’s not mine. I didn’t make it. I’m not a doctor, nutritionist, dietician, or even all that great in the kitchen.

I’m just a girl with a blog who’s kinda groovy, too.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

2 thoughts on “My7DayDiet: Day 8

  1. Addie says:

    Will share this with Lainey, my friend, who, according to her, is currently in desperate need of detoxifying.

    • I can promise you that days 1, 2, and 3 will be hard but are totally doable so long as you remember to just keep eating without thoughts about overeating. You absolutely won’t.

      I can not promise you will love it as much as I do now…but there is certainly a very good chance.

What Say You?

