My7DayDiet: Day 9; The Impact


Yeah…I’m still writing about it…

You may remember that some time around Day 3 I was craving a Twix bar so bad I was dreaming about it. I spent hours researching shortbread cookie recipes so I could try to better imagine how it would taste. I was thinking about the chewy caramel and how perfectly it went with the chocolate. Perfection in a bite-sized chocolate coated cookie.

Something went terribly, terribly wrong between Day 3 and Day 8. Yesterday was Day 8 and no Twix bars were to be had. No joke. In fact, no junk has been eaten. That’s not even the worst of it…

On Day 7, the last day, I started thinking about what I was going to eat on Day 8. My *first* day without a plan, without a strategy. I was going to be on my own again and I was nervous. I was nervous because I didn’t want to screw it up. I was having a hard time remembering what it was I ate before.

I was meandering through Whole Foods picking up some flaxseed meal for baking I was planning to do and because Cara promised it doesn’t taste like fish and happened upon some Veggie Rolls wrapped in Brown Rice over by the seafood section. Yay for lunch. I got home and made a loaf of oat bread because I love it and then I remembered how much I love my cold oats for a fantastically easy breakfast so I made some up and let them wait in the fridge for the day to come.

Then the day did come and as I waited for the girls to potty outside I sliced some fresh bread put a little grape jam on it and snacked while assessing my food day. Slice o’ bread for breakfast. Bowl o’ cold oats and bananas in hemp milk for snack once I got to work. Rice wrapped avocado and cucumber for lunch. And then my upper lip curled in disgust.

That’s a lot of refined carbohydrates, Meg.

Garsh, I know! Is that what my food day normally looks like?

Well, carbs are good and necessary. They are all low glycemic carbs and those are not *unhealthy* food choices. It is clean.

But during the detox, I got my carbs naturally from fruit. I don’t need all that. In fact, I know that I don’t need any of it because I feel fantastic without it.

This was exactly the conversation that myself and I had by the light of the refrigerator door. I took out my lunch bag and unpacked it. All I took to work was a tupperware container of spaghetti squash and a hardboiled egg. On the commute in I stopped off to grab a massive serving of cut fruit (it is so much more cost-effective to cut that stuff myself) and fresh salsa. In the end my food day consisted of: Slice o bread and grape jam for breakfast. Cantaloupe for until it was finished. Salsa, spaghetti squash, and a hardboiled egg for the rest with left over for tomorrow.

~~~~~~~

Remember how much I was looking forward to a cup of deliciously bold, warm coffee? I hadn’t had coffee in 9 days and in no way have I felt like I need it. Heck, it was the week of the detox of all weeks that the girls and I finally started getting up at the 4:30am alarm to go out and do our 4 miles. Day 8 was a beloved day for I was going to have coffee. Except that apparently, I’ve been romanticizing the taste of coffee and it does not taste the way I dreamed it tasted (I have the same problem with curry, I keep thinking I’ll like it but then I eat it and it lets me down) and a few sips in and my ears were ringing, I tried to have conversations with coworkers but I felt like I was on speed, and my face was flushed.

Well, hell.

~~~~~~~

Remember the reason I wanted to do the detox was because I found out I had food allergies, not life threatening, and I’d gotten lazy around the holidays and was just eating what was easy?

Remember the reason I found out I had food allergies was because I’ve had constant joint pain for the past 2-3 years and migraines for the past 10 and after tons and tons of testing nothing was wrong with me until we found out that I’m allergic to everything I eat? While I haven’t been soy-free, I’ve been very soy aware. I’m not avoiding it in all it’s annoying preservative forms but I will stay away from anything with soybean oil and anything obviously soyful.

  • I’ve noticed a dramatic decrease in my migraines during this time.
  • Glands of mine that have been swollen and infected since I was about 10 years old, are finally not swollen. I’m not kidding, either. Since middle school about every 6 months I’d come down with some terrible throat problem and have to live off pudding and jello for 2 weeks. I’d get swabbed for strep (negative) and mono (negative), told I had tonsilitis, given antibiotics and sent home. This was the cycle of my life until a few years ago when I had my tonsils and adenoids removed. I no longer had the flare ups keeping me home on antibiotics but still my glands were chronically swollen and constantly sore. But now, I poke and I prod and nothing…no pain, no swelling, no soreness. Nada.

But the thing I’ve noticed as a result of the detox…

  • My joint pain is gone and it’s been below freezing all week. This may not seem big to some but it is huge. For the past few years when it is cold outside or I’m having a particularly poor blood circulation day resulting in cold hands and fingers, I have been plagued with pain in my elbows, wrists, and fingers. Last year, though, the cold seeped into my hips and I was kept home in horrific pain. Sleeping was awful because unless I was on my back, a searing pain would shoot through my body from the hip-joint I was laying on and keep me awake. Seriously, it was awful.

~~~~~~~

And that is how My7DayDiet ruined my life because

that twix bar just isn’t worth it.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

What Say You?

