Fruity. Cookie. Pockets.


As you all know life after the detox has been great and I’ve been really excited to keep the momentum. The detox wasn’t only great to help my mind wrap itsself back around what I need to do to be the best me I can be but it also served to remove all soy and barley from my system. I’ve noticed a remarkable difference in the way my body feels: less pain, less cramps, more energy (way more). Every day I travel over to Cara’s blog (ForkandBeans) and scope out her daily gluten-free, vegan treats. Her recreation of Fig Newtons caught my eye and got me to thinkin’,

I wonder if I can do that?”

Turns out, I totally can do that. My first attempt, I stuck to her instructions to the T. I made some notes and decided to try it again and give ’em a good dose of Megan.

Ingredients

1 c. Soft Wheat Flour

1/2 c. Oat Flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 c. brown sugar

4 tbsp. applesauce

4 tsp. Flaxseed meal

3 tbsp. water

1/2 tsp. Real maple syrup

fruit jam

Soy-free, nut-free, dairy-free Chocolate Mini Morsels

What to do with it all

In a small bowl mix flaxseed meal and water together and set aside. In a medium bowl mix all dry ingredients (flour, powder, salt). In larger bowl mix applesauce and brown sugar together until well blended. Add flaxseed meal until well blended. Add maple syrup until well blended. Add dry ingredients to the wet mix. Add flour as necessary if mixture is too wet. Turn out 1/4 of the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth. Roll out dough until 1/4″ thick (I prefer a slightly thinner cookie). Using a cookie cutter, cut out pairs until all dough is used (you may have to get creative toward the end). In the center of one cut out place “a few” chocolate mini morsels and 1/2 tsp of jam of your choice. Place the other cut-out over and pinch edges together. Place cookie on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar.

Bake for 14-15 minutes at 350°F.

Cool.

Devour.

Attempt Numero Uno

These bitches have been Meg-ified

Comments on the dish from the food critics in my life

The first batch I made exactly like Cara (using 3″ x 2″ squares of dough to make the newton) I took in to work and my McDonald’s eating manly men of coworkers ate them and thought they were great. For me, the cookie was too big and the filling was not enough which is why I went with a smaller cookie size this time around and I’m super, duper glad that I did. It was exactly what I wanted proprotionally. Slightly less healthy than where I started what with the cinnamon sugar and chocolate morsels but whatevs. Soy and barley free, they are. I started adding chocolate morsels to lots of stuff because I’m just so damn happy they are soy and nut-free.

Few *interesting* things to note: I used applesauce in the place of butter but the cookie part is still soft and chewy. I also used real maple syrup instead of vanilla.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

6 thoughts on “Fruity. Cookie. Pockets.

  1. Cara says:

    Look at you, you little baker!!! These look so good–I love how you made them more into cookies than a bar. Pure genius! So what are you making for the bake-off contest??? hehe

    • It’s less genius and more perfectionitis but still good and the chocolate got all melty and was like those lava cake desserts you get just more manageable 🙂 I’d be nowhere without your fantastic recipes!

  2. hyperhege says:

    These look really yummy! 🙂
    I want to try making them some time!

    I made some really good allthough unfortunately very unhealthy muffins the other day! 🙂

  3. pennypup says:

    Those look so delish! I may just have to give them a shot =D

What Say You?

