My Project 365: A Dog A Day (Day 23)


Day 23

My Project 365: A Dog A Day

I will select a dog a day to share here.

A dog that is sheltered or fostered in the continental US.

A dog that needs a loving home.

A dog that wants a second chance.

Gordon

STATUS: AVAILABLE FOR ADOPTION AT MANHATTAN AC&C

[shelter info at bottom of post]

Meet GORDON!!! ID# 0922377

Male

1.5 years old

58 lbs

Entered the shelter as a stray

A volunteer writes:  Be still my heart; Gordon is a knockout!  And, it isn’t just me – he got so many compliments as we were walking through the park.  He is a beautiful white/amber boy, his coat shiny and healthy.  Gordon appears to be housetrained, taking care of business as soon as we were out the door.  His leash manners are wonderful, he sits on command, and took treats from my hand so gently I could barely feel it.  He is calm, gentle and a sweetheart.  As I was tethering him to the fence for his photoshoot, he kept giving me kisses and hugs.  Gordon would rather kiss than do just about anything!  He posed well for photos as if he has done this 1000x before.  What a rock star!!!  I fell head over heels in love with Gordon today and I am sure you will do the same once you meet him.    Don’t wait too long – Gordon is ready to find his new family and begin a new life.  If you are lucky, it will be with you.  

This dog is located at the Manhattan AC&C (326 E 110th Street, NYC 10029). Please act quickly and GO DIRECTLY TO THE SHELTER to adopt (open 7 days per week from 8AM-7PM, adoptions opens at noon). If the dog is on the euthanasia list, you must CALL THE SHELTER to let them know that you are coming (212-722-4939 keep hitting 0 until someone picks up. Do not leave a message when the recording picks up — keep hitting 0 until your hear a voice!).

 Please contact participating rescue groups to see if they can assist you: http://www.animalalliancenyc.org/about/apos/atoz.htm.

On behalf of the dog before you, THANK YOU!

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

2 thoughts on “My Project 365: A Dog A Day (Day 23)

  1. Cara says:

    Is it normal that I tear up at each post you do of these pup??? Seriously, my heart is gutted out with each picture. I want a dog more than I want a child…

    • I know exactly how you feel. Have you ever considered volunteering at your local SPCA or rescue? I haven’t been able to go in for a while but I found that it was comforting to me to do something. Also, it’s hard not to *hate* the people who put these dogs in these situations but then when you walk down the row of abandoned dogs who are smiling and wagging their tails as though they haven’t been given up on by someone it makes you think, “If they can stay positive in all of this, why shouldn’t I?” It’s really kind of amazing.

What Say You?

