All You Need Is Love – John Lennon


(Love, love, love)
(Love, love, love)
(Love, love, love)
 
There’s nothing you can do that can’t be done
Nothing you can sing that can’t be sung
Nothing you can say but you can learn how to play the game
It’s easy
 
There’s nothing you can make that can’t me made
No one you can save that can’t be saved
Nothing you can do but you can learn how to be you in time
It’s easy
 
All you need is love
All you need is love
All you need is love, love
Love is all you need
 
(Love, love, love)
(Love, love, love)
(Love, love, love)
 
All you need is love
All you need is love
All you need is love, love
Love is all you need
 
There’s nothing you can know that isn’t known
Nothing you can see that isn’t shown
There’s nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be
It’s easy
 
All you need is love
All you need is love
All you need is love, love
Love is all you need
 
All you need is love, all together now
All you need is love, everybody
All you need is love, love
 
Love is all you need
Love is all you need
Love is all you need
Love is all you need

In the simple words that “All you need is love” I have lost myself time and again. I have been enraged at the simple fool who believed that love is all you need. I have breathed calming, sighs of relief knowing that all you need is love. 

I loved a boy once, more than I loved myself. The boy was my hero, my everything. When he smiled, I smiled. When he cried, I cried. When he got mad and packed his bags, there were mine right next to his. He was older, this boy of mine. I chased after him in everything. I followed him around the neighborhood. I followed him around school. Once, a bully was mean to my boy and there I was small and bright-eyed, threatening to punch that bully in the nose if he ever, E-V-E-R hurt my boy again.

My boy didn’t particularly appreciate my interference

We grew up, though, that boy and I. The reasons he had always been my hero and  my everything grew us apart. They had made us who we were and we were so different. All the love in the world I had for the boy was not enough for him to love me. He was the first boy who ever broke my heart.

Years later I knew that while I was there with my heart in my eyes giving everything I had to give to my boy he didn’t have love to give me in return. It was not because I was not loveable. It was because he thought himself so.

Love is all you need.

Self love.

When the self is loved, the rest will follow.

…so…

Goo Goo G’joob

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

7 thoughts on “All You Need Is Love – John Lennon

  1. wildcatnova says:

    “It was not because I was not loveable. It was because he thought himself so.”

    This is beautiful, Megan.

  2. Cara says:

    I just heart you so! I tried to find you on FB on my personal account but couldn’t find you 😦

  3. Addie says:

    Oh, puppy love. I can imagine a little meanie version of you – don’t E-V-E-R! Haha. Now this reminds me of that boy from once upon a time. Hmm. Nice writing prompt, idol! 😀

    Mwah.

What Say You?

