My Project 365: A Dog a Day (Day 58)


Day 58

My Project 365: A Dog A Day

I will select a dog a day to share here.

A dog that is sheltered or fostered in the continental US.

A dog that needs a loving home.

A dog that wants a second chance.

Kenley

 

 STATUS: AVAILABLE FOR ADOPTION AT PHILADELPHIA ACCT

[shelter info at bottom of post]

Kenley (A15172859)

Female

1-2 Years

55 lbs

Kenley says:  I’m a spunky girl with a big heart and a lot of love to give – I want to shake, shake, shake my sillies out with you! I’m a female black and white bully-mix and the volunteers here at the shelter tell me I’m beautiful – how can I disagree? Look at my sweet face! I came to the shelter because my family said they couldn’t care for me any more because they were expecting a baby – although it stinks that I’m here, I don’t hold any grudges and I’m still a happy, friendly girl! I’m a bit confused at being in this kennel all day, and I have a lot of pent up energy from not being able to stretch my legs enough. Although I am currently living in a shelter, my tail never stops wagging. I have a good amount of pep in my step, so I’d be an ideal candidate for a running or hiking partner and maybe even learn some agility some day. Hey, a girl has to shake her sillies out somehow, right? Can you blame me? I did very well in my evaluations at the shelter, and passed my body handling and food aggression tests like a champ. I met some cats, and I didn’t think they were half bad, so I think I could live with a feline friend or two. Why not? I liked the other dogs, too, and I really wanted to play with them. I just get so excited to see them that sometimes I can be a bit jumpy, but I’m very polite and will back off if corrected. If you have a dog at home, make sure to bring him or her to the shelter to meet me to make sure that we all get along! I might not be the best dog for little kids because I can just be so excitable and jumpy sometimes. I was likely never taught any manners so I’m sort of playing catch-up, but I’m getting better and better with continued training. I would love to meet any kids at home under 15 and see how we do! I am part of the Pen Pal program at the shelter, and my pen pals (that’s right, not one but two!) are helping me work on my basic commands and manners. Something that I’m trying really hard to work on are my leash manners. I just can’t quite seem to get the hang of walking on this silly thing. They are helping learn how to walk nicely and not bunny hop my way along our walk – (but bunny hopping is SO fun!) – and how to avoid getting distracted when we walk past other dogs and people. With some consistency and persistence in my training, I think I’ll catch on fairly soon. We are also working on “sit” and “look” to help me focus and redirect some of my pent up energy into positive training. I love making my brain work! I would love an owner that will continue working with me on my training and help me become the best girl I can be – I know I have it in me!


Philadelphia ACCT

111 W. Hunting Park Ave. Philadelphia, PA 19140

Phone: (267) 385-3800

Adoption Center Hours:

Monday through Friday 1PM – 8PM

Saturday and Sunday 10AM – 5PM

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

3 thoughts on “My Project 365: A Dog a Day (Day 58)

  1. Cara says:

    All that talk about shaking out the sillies has got me giggling. Look at that bandana. Arrrrrrg-uh! MINE.

    • Did you know the bandana is ’cause she’s black? They are always last to go. It’s a phenomenon called Black Pet Syndrome.

      • Cara says:

        WHAT?? My “adopted” little baby-boo pup (Greg’s sister’s dog who comes over a lot) is black and I love her soooooooooo much! Why on earth would someone NOT adopt a black coated pup?? They are so stinking adorable. In fact, now I am missing my little Angel and I want her here so I can scratch her belly 😦

What Say You?

