The proof is in the [raw] pudding


This is the beginning of my journey into the raw world.

For real this time!

I’ve been edging closer with my juicing books and experiments.

All of which look *interesting* (read: green) and taste similar (read: earthy)

Last week I had another appointment with another doctor.

This time the GI; he was heading in to poke around.

I did what anyone who wanted answers would do:

Ate the foods I know to be problematic.

Hey! I want results, dammit!!

Here is what I found out:

  1. I had forgotten how bad the pain was.
  2. Ingestion of soy, barley, and gluten = pain (times a lot).
  3. My GI is a hottie!!
  4. Coming out of anesthesia I asked about his marital status (married).
  5. My food allergies are not attacking my insides (the good news)!!!
  6. They are just attacking my joints (the bad news).
  7.  So seriously, Jackass, stop eating that stuff!

I am glad I finally have an *answer*.

(Some lab results still pending)

I am glad it’s not more serious.

[Serious Side Note: Please don’t suggest that altering my lifestyle is unnecessary.
No, they won’t *kill* me but I can not will not live with that pain.]

This is the last time I will preface a recipe with an excuse for it.

Chocolate Pudding 

  • 1 avocado
  • 1 c. hemp milk
  • 1/3 c. cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c. Enjoy Life chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar
  • 2 tbsp chia seed
  • berries of choice

Melt chocolate chips and stir in milk, cocoa powder, and agave. In food processor combine avocado and chocolate wet mixture. Blend until smooth. Mix in chia seed by hand (optional, not pictured). In a separate bowl using an electric mixer blend berries (pictured: blackberries, preference: raspberries). In serving dish layer pudding/berries/pudding. Refrigerate or freeze.

(Play around with your chocolate quantities – I like chocolate so I add more)
If you use applesauce (not raw) instead of milk the pudding thickens (also delicious)
(Note to self: Must attempt raw applesauce)

So technically, the way I made this it is not raw but it has raw potential. The Enjoy Life chocolate chips aren’t raw and I melted them in a double boiler which may have exceeded 118ºF but if I had made raw chocolate, like Cara,and then melted it in a water bath they’d pass raw muster.

Like I said…raw potential.

Anyway, why are you judging me?!

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

8 thoughts on “The proof is in the [raw] pudding

  1. I judge not, but I do wish to try some.

  2. Cara says:

    I think you should go back to your doctor and get a 2nd opinion…from him though…because he’s hot 🙂

    Well, at least you know for sure that those foods are the culprits. Consider this your last Enjoy Life chocolate hurrah!

  3. Addie says:

    This I always say to myself: Thank the heavens I don’t have any food allergies.
    Then again, I realize food is allergic to me.
    I agree with Cara. Go back to your GI and have him check your….joints.
    Ugh, but he’s married!
    Pft.
    Love you I hope the joint pains go away forever.

    • If it hadn’t been for Caroline I don’t even think I would have looked in the direction of allergies – it still doesn’t make any sense to me. I hope they go away, too. Oh Dr. Hameed why must you look so delicious…He’s like edamame to me. I want one so very bad but it’s not allowed.

What Say You?

