Oh the Guilt; Oh the Pleasure


Day 02 — Not including food, blogging or television, what is your most guilty pleasure (this includes chocolate)…

Immediately my mind screamed: “THE GIRLS!” but then I thought I’d better define guilty pleasure, or rather – see how it was defined by others:

“A guilty pleasure is something one enjoys and considers pleasurable despite feeling guilt for enjoying it.” (So says The Wiki)

Oh! Well then my answer is emphatically NOT the girls because I don’t feel one whit of guilt about the pleasure I get from hanging out with them and the rest of y’all can go shit in a hat if you don’t like it. Aren’t you the lucky ones because I know precisely where one goes to find a hat for shittin’ so you let me know if you need one.

Hm…guilty pleasure…guilty pleasure…(stroking chin in thoughtful manner)…

Ahhh…I got it!

I love Miley Cyrus. I think it’s her poppy, smiley nature. I hated her tv show but then again, I didn’t watch it either (Disney’s programming is way hammier than it was when they ran shows I grew up watching like Avonlea).

I netflixed every Miley Cyrus and/or Hannah Montana movie while I was going through the break-up.

(yeah, I just verbed that ((and that)) – deal with it!)

I downloaded her songs to my iPod so I could sing “it’s the CLIIIIIIIMBBBBB” on repeat whenever life was getting me down.

 (at least until the Great Boobsweat Massacre)

When running the radio in my car through SCAN I’ll stop so I can sing along with her.

 (Rose, stop rolling your eyes at me!)
If you know my dad, please don’t out me. I know he owes me a pass for refusing to see Van Halen with me last month because he’s a Hagarist – but this would be more than anyone should be asked to forgive.

Shit…you know what? While I’m at it I might as well cop to this one, too…What can I say? I metamorphized with Metamorphosis.

(yeah, more verbing)

There’s a freeingness that happens when I can sit and turn my brain off. I don’t need it for these two. My brain is soooo tired.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

18 thoughts on “Oh the Guilt; Oh the Pleasure

  1. PM says:

    OM you like miley cyrus! i must admit i watched hannah montana too. i find her cute. what is she doing nowadays anyway?

  2. Addie says:

    When you get here Meg let’s have a karaoke competition and sing ‘it’s the CLIIIIIIIMBBBBB’ at the top of our lungs!

  3. bluefiadiarries says:

    Haha. I like Miley. She’s Liam’s GF. 🙂

  4. wildcatnova says:

    Oh god. I still love her. I foresee some family bonding time over way-too-loud Hannah Montana soundtracks.

  5. Tom Baker says:

    I wasn’t going to comment for fear of the backlash but she really is unbearable to me. I’m glad you find her appealing or your post today would be blank but I see a train wreck in the making like so many other child stars. Just my opinion and you are allowed any guilty pleasure that isn’t against the law (smile)!

    • Never fear retaliation. Honestly, it’s my embarrassing guilty pleasure. I discount musicians all the time for not being lyrically interesting, flatness of voice, no real talent (as though I’m a professional) and then things like this happen. I think, too, I like her out of a “you shouldn’t” way. At NYE a few years ago so got flustered and thanked God for the “god thing”, I assume she meant the blessing of her life and career, and I laughed hysterically for hours. That’s what decided me.

  6. Cherlyn says:

    Miley Cyrus eh? Well, I’m not a fan, but who am I to judge? To each their own 🙂 Her music isn’t half bad to me I suppose, just not my cup of tea. Glad you can admit you enjoy something, and despite it being a guilty pleasure, at least you can find something pleasureable about it 🙂

  7. veehcirra says:

    Miley is great, though I really feel for kids who are thrown in the spotlight at such a young age…I like her best friend from Hanna Montana though.

  8. Cara says:

    BAHAHA!! Greg and I would actually watch Hannah Montana on Saturday mornings 🙂 My guilty pleasure is listening to a Christian radio station at times. Brings me back…then sometimes it gets on my nerves that I have to swtch the station. But for that time being, it feels rather amazing as I rock out to Jesus jams 🙂

  9. pennypup says:

    Hahahahaha! I’m not a fan but I must admit her music is tollerable, if not catchy. My niece was quite the fan for some time. Perhaps she still is… but you know kids. Their interests wane day to day.

    Kudos to you for admitting your guilty pleasure!

  10. TemptingSweets99 says:

    Miley, huh? Next time, I’ll pay attention to her work if I come across it on T.V. 😉

What Say You?

