Rock on, Sister Moon


Day 04 — A blogger friend I’ve known for over five years told me she has been blogging anonymously all this time and most of what I know about her is her fantasy. My reaction to the news is…

“Rock on, Sister Moon!!” That’s what my dad says to let me know it’s okay to do whatever it is that I’m doing right now that I think I need to be doing.

So for 5 years you have been creating a fantasy, eh? That is dedication. That is one creative mind you got, girl. I’m jealous. I’m a shit liar. Sure, sure I can sit and think up some really great stuff but it’s like highschool drama club backdrop art: one dimensional; a piece of cardboard with a rudimentary tree painted on it. You are like that movie: Inception. The details. The commitment. Wow. Just wow.

me

you

 Okay. So now that I’m done gushing…

YOU LIED TO ME?! I’m hurt!

I kid. I kid. I’m not that hurt.

“Who we are is nothing more than the choice we make in the next moment”

(the other thing I say – ALL THE TIME!!!)

Every day we wake up and decide who we are going to be and the people we encounter pull more pieces of that person out as the day goes on. You were a bitch to the mailman, an angel to the hurt/sick child/animal you saw crying in the street, a fierce taskmaster keeping your wayward employees in line, a mousy girl on that first date with the boy you’ve been crushing, a sexy goddess at the climbing wall/yoga studio.

We are not always one thing and never another. We are all things: good, bad, ugly. And the truth about lies is that lies are filled with truths. It’s less about who you are not and more about why you chose to be *this* person to me.

Regardless I am flattered that the person you wanted me to know was this awesome creation with whom I have bonded and shared my life these past few years. Where do we go from here?

 

Here is a more complete list of everyone involved in this month’s challenge. Cherlyn Cochrane, Aurathena, TheFerkel, A Single Parent’s Life, Lovelylici1986, Prysmatique, AnonymousBurn, Caroline, Koi, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Everything L&L, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Princesa Musang, DLonelyStar, TemptingSweets99, LJ, TerriblethinkerMarliz3e, Sleep and Salami, Primadonna Zel and Sofia.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

18 thoughts on “Rock on, Sister Moon

  1. Sofia says:

    “We are not always one thing and never another. We are all things: good, bad, ugly. And the truth about lies is that lies are filled with truths. It’s less about who you are not and more about why you chose to be *this* person to me.”
    ~~~ so so true and well said. 🙂

  2. Addie says:

    I’m sorry I lied. I was gonna come clean right at the very start but everything I told you about me on day 1** had since bore a domino effect. Very uncontrollable. I’m sorry I’m not real and is only a figment of my own sick imagination. Where do we go from here? You tell me, my dear gullible friend.

    **Remember when I told you I am the banana queen living at the candy mountain and that I own an amulet that I accidentally swallowed which then of course gave me diarrhea and made me poop rainbows? Can’t believe you bought that. Hahahaha.

  3. Cherlyn says:

    This is very well put, I really enjoyed your answer! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Thanks so much. I spend so much of my time sitting and pondering the self and why we are who we are when we are. It’s nice to write about it this way as I hadn’t found a way to jump into it before.

  4. Tom Baker says:

    We are truly different people at different times. The person we are at school is different from at church or at home and even different from teacher to teacher and friend to friend. I think that is more circumstance and the personality you deal with. Nonetheless a great answer indeed.

    • Exactly, we are so many different people all wrapped up in one delightful body. The safety we feel in the presence of some helps with that. I have friends who I am unabashedly myself with: out going, funny, thoughtful, scared, strong, loving, sarcastic, and angry. They love me for me. There are others who I trust less to see me without judgement and to them, I am generally seen as cold and distant. Where people from those two groups to meet, they would think I had lied about myself to the other.

  5. prysmatique says:

    There are some really solid points here! I think I’d definitely have a certain threshold of respect and awe for them for keeping up the facade of a fake character for five whole years. In my creative writing class, we’re encouraged to write character bios and journals and get in touch with them. Place them in situations, write about how they react, and get to know them so well we can write them properly and effortlessly into any story because that story is a reality for the char. we have created. It is feasible. You’ve done that but in REALITY. For five YEARS, not just a week or a month. Quite impressive. But would you be able to consider them a friend again? You’re friends with the fake but have to get to re-know the real, right? It’d be a process for sure.

    • A valid point, to be sure. I didn’t realize until later that this speaks more about how I handle people and their lies. The circumstance would change based on the person and the lie but in *this* circumstance the friend was unknown to me until I created my own self through my blog. While I am my honest and truthful self all the time, some days my words are more adventurous, more independent, or even more deep and complicated that even I am left staring at a post wondering “Who is the woman who wrote that thing.” So I meet someone that I suspect experiences similar moments with themselves. Not one of us comes here without the awareness of the anonymity the internet provides. It is safer to be whatever we want from the other side of a computer screen. So any friend I meet here, I accept on an unbiased, blank canvas and let them build themselves to me. When there is no reason to lie to a person (i.e. you never have and may never meet) then to me it is more curious to me, why you felt the need. My general belief is that people lie when they are pointedly asked questions about truths they are not ready to answer. When we allow people to tell their truths in their own time, that is when we can expect them to be real truths.

      Were I to find that my best, real-world, friend who I met in my life and built around the trappings of everyday mishishgosh had lied to me for 5 years, the story would be different. I would perhaps feel hurt and betrayed.

      But *here* we can be whatever we want. I am who I am here but some days I am more and others I am less.

      • prysmatique says:

        That’s true enough, I suppose. But if you are reaching out to your readers…perhaps finding yourself getting closer to one….I don’t see HOW you could lie about everything. You know? But that’s all just philosophizing and not related to the prompt anymore haha.

        PS “When we allow people to tell their truths in their own time, that is when we can expect them to be real truths” was beautiful!

  6. veehcirra says:

    This is well said, the truth about lies is that lies are filled with truths.

    At least she felt she trusted you enough to tell you her “secret”. Life goes on really…and now you have to share something you have been hiding about yourself to her lol

  7. wildcatnova says:

    That’s a really interesting perspective. My gut reaction to being lied to is to curl up and die. I hope you rub off on me.

  8. TemptingSweets99 says:

    Good question: “Where do we go from here?” 🙂

What Say You?

