Not Today, Thanks.


Day 09 — When the cashier gives me this amount of money for change I know it’s too much money to dump in the charity bucket…

Uhm, I don’t get this question so…no. When the cashier hands me cash, I have no idea if it’s the right or wrong amount. Generally, I trust they did it properly and I shove my change in my purse and move on. Simple adding and subtracting stump me.

I don’t usually put my change in the charity buckets. I usually reply, “Not today” when asked if I would like to add a dollar to my purchase to donate to some charity.

But…

A boy scout and his mom were set up outside my grocery store a couple of months ago and the boy shyly asked if I was interested in purchasing whatever he was selling and per my usual I replied, “Not today.” I’m not sure if it was his obvious discomfort at having to ask or just that he wished me a good day anyway but upon leaving the store I handed him cash I’d taken out at the register.

I really only mean to say, I do give charitably. Not all the time but when I am moved to do so and the quantity of my donation doesn’t cross my mind. It’s whatever I have that I can easily grab and throw in the canister as quickly as possible before eye contact occurs.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

6 thoughts on “Not Today, Thanks.

  1. Tom Baker says:

    He touched your heart! What a great story.

  2. wildcatnova says:

    I can’t even tell you how many boxes of girl scout cookies I’ve bought simply because the girls were brave enough to ask.

  3. pennypup says:

    I hate that. I hate it! I think it’s so unfair when stores allow soliciting inside, or just outside the door.

    I feel like I’m weaving my way through a minefield, hoping… praying they don’t see me.

    When they ask for my change, I always want to say “EFFFFFF (but the nastier version) WHY ARE YOU BOTHERING ME!?!? WHY DOES THIS STORE ALLOW YOU PEOPLE TO DISTURB IT’S PATRONS!!???! EFF OFF!”

    But I usually smile, reach in my pocket and pull out the first coin I happen to grab (secretly hoping it’s not a loonie or toonie) and drop it in their bucket.

    Kids however… they always melt my heart so I give them it all…. and it peeves me to no end that people use children like that. =b

  4. TemptingSweets99 says:

    When I’m moved, I give, too. I would have given to the kid, too. 🙂

What Say You?

