Would You Rather?


Day 24 — Given the choice between having to live the rest of my life without my voice, or living the rest of my life without the ability to hear, I would choose…

…to give up hearing.

Being blind would alter my world too completely.

To never hear a sound is unthinkable to me. But to never see a loved one’s face, Analaigh’s goofy grin, or Rose’s tongue in overdrive would be unbearable. I could not, would not, give up climbing. In many ways, it gave me back my life or gave me my first taste of a happy, fulfilled one and losing that would be a tragedy. As my darling Bonnie sings, “I will not be broken” but, please, stay hypothetical.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

9 thoughts on “Would You Rather?

  1. Tom Baker says:

    I guess saying good choice would be foolish. There isn’t a good choice, just your choice. Very interesting.

    • I didn’t even realize – I didn’t answer the question. It was my voice or hearing; not sight or hearing. Whoops. Still – that I read the question as I chose to read it to come up with the answer that I did…I won’t go achangin’ it now.

  2. Addie says:

    This reminds me of Helen Keller’s writing about how she would spend all three days of it if she were given a sense of sight. I have a deaf uncle but I’m sure he’s grateful he’s not blind.

    • That woman is likely the strongest woman who ever lived. To neither hear, nor speak, nor see? Unfathomable is only the tippiest-tip of the iceburg of how unable to fathom that I am.

  3. wildcatnova says:

    I wonder what it says about you that you read “voice” as “sight”

  4. Sofia says:

    I am with you. 🙂

  5. pennypup says:

    Hah! Don’t let my hubby see this. He thinks I’m already deaf so he’d tell me to choice my voice!

What Say You?

