For My Mother(s)


This poem hangs in my childhood home. Given that this weekend is Mother’s Day, I felt it appropriate to share it here. Happy Mother’s Day to my moms. You loved and nurtured me in your own ways and have had a part in who I am today.

Ya done good, kids. Ya done good.

Legacy of An Adopted Child

Author Unknown

 

 

Once there were two women,

Who barely knew each other.

One is in your heart forever,

The other you’ll call mother.

 

Two different lives,

Shaped to make yours one.

One became your guiding star,

The other became your sun.

 

The first gave you life,

And the second taught you how to live it.

The first gave you a need for love,

And the second was there to give it.

 

One gave you a nationality,

The other gave you a name.

One gave you the seed of talent,

The other gave you an aim.

 

One gave you emotions,

The other calmed your fears.

One saw your first sweet smile,

The other dried your tears.

 

One gave you a family,

It was what God intended for her to do.

The other prayed for a child,

And God led her straight to you.

 

And now you ask me

Through your tears,

The age old question through the years.

Heredity or environment…

Which are you a product of?

Neither, my darling… neither,

Just two different kinds of love.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

11 thoughts on “For My Mother(s)

  1. Addie says:

    Love. A mother’s love means the world to me. Happy birthday to your moms, baby girl.

    Happy Mama’s day to you, too. Every one “claims” to love their dog but only a few dog parents really do.

    • Thank you, Addie!! I’m sure the girls would have made a card if they could. I think of you, often, when I think of mothers and the sacrifices they make for their children. And the sacrifices others make for us to make us their children. Your love gives me love.

      I love you. Happy Mama’s Day to you, too, Jord loves you most.

  2. TemptingSweets99 says:

    wonderful poem. so lucky to have two moms who provide two different important gifts to you.

    • Thanks. As a child, I read the poem in anger – giving credit to a woman I didn’t know was outside of my understanding. It’s been more meaningful to me these past few years.

  3. prysmatique says:

    This is beautiful ❤ Wow, I love this poem. And you understand it so much more now than you would have in the past, and I'm so happy for you for being able to do that.

  4. wildcatnova says:

    no, I did not cry while reading this. I had something in my eyes. Both of them.

  5. Sofia says:

    One day I will share this poem with my son.
    Thank you for posting it…

What Say You?

