Happy [First (that I’ll remember)] Mother’s Day


One May evening seven years ago I sat down after work and wrote out a dozen Mother’s Day cards. I had a list of names of Shirley Lambert and I hoped and prayed that you would be one in my list. I wrote the same letter over and over to women I did not know:

I am searching for my birth mother. I hope that this letter does not cause you any pain about a life you would, perhaps, prefer be left forgotten. If you choose not to respond then I will understand. Please know that you have been thought of often and I truly wish that you have a Happy Mother’s Day.

I never received a reply, save one from a Shirley Lambert wishing us luck in finding each other. But after that I decided to give up the chase. I knew that it was time. I needed to find my own way forward.

Then the cosmos decided enough penance was done and our personal battles were all but won.

This year I know that my heartfelt wishes will reach you.   

 

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

3 thoughts on “Happy [First (that I’ll remember)] Mother’s Day

  1. Addie says:

    Happy Belated Mother’s Day to you Ms. Lambert. 🙂

  2. wildcatnova says:

    My heart was so happy for you this mother’s day. 🙂

What Say You?

