The [Carroll] Ayes Have It


My mom has beautiful eyes that she shares with two of my three sisters. They are beautiful blue eyes. I call them the Carroll eyes because my mom’s brother has those eyes, so does her sister, so do my cousins. When the family all comes over and they are standing in the living room or sitting around a table, you know who belongs to whom. Their eyes all twinkle in precisely that same way when they smile and laugh. (Don’t worry about that third sister of mine, she and my baby brother have the same eyes and they share those with my dad.)

Do you see those beautiful Carroll eyes?

I don’t know when it started but I play this little game every time I am out in the world seeing families together. I look back and forth from child to parent and try to match up their faces. Baby got daddy’s chin but mommy’s nose. That child belongs to those parents. I would wonder what it must feel like to wake up in a house full of people who look like you. Does it help you feel like you belong? Do you notice? Does it matter?

Mommy’s nose?

 

Daddy’s eyes?

I know, I know. I grew up with my brother and we have brown hair and brown eyes but that is where our similarities end. He is really tall and skinny and I am shorter and dumpier squatter meatier less skinny. He is really attractive and, well, I have a great personality.

I have read that people who spend a lot of time together do start to look similar even if there are no genetic bonds so when someone would tell me my sister and I had the same smile I would preen like a peacock. I would smile knowingly when I was told that I looked like my dad. Of course we did, we were family after all.  

But still, I knew…and I was jealous of the Carroll eyes.

…until…I saw my mama…

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

11 thoughts on “The [Carroll] Ayes Have It

  1. TemptingSweets99 says:

    I love your smiles.

  2. I try to see the similarities of families when I walk by them or see them hanging out together.
    I don’t think me and my mom look so much alike but other people always say we do. Hmm, still, can’t see it except that we both have green eyes.
    Great pictures btw 🙂

    • I think, also, we have a hard time seeing the similarities. Much like we don’t see subtle changes that happen over time as we are with ourselves every day. My friend, Caroline, featured above with her son Aidan, doesn’t always see the similarities between her and him where it is so clear to me.

      I did not immediately see the similarities between me and my mom until this picture.

  3. Addie says:

    And ya got mama’s cheeks too. This is my most favorite post of yours thus far.

  4. wildcatnova says:

    You are so beautiful, and I see where it came from.

    Also, just wait for the day someone tells you Aiders looks like you.

    • Awwww…. thanks!! My mama sure is beautiful. I imagine Aidan’s look-a-like moment will come sometime when he begins dressing himself and he’s wearing polkadot pants and an argyle sweater…not that I *own* an argyle sweater but you know what I mean 🙂

  5. prysmatique says:

    Wow talk about similarities, that’s amazing >< I do that a lot with my baby nieces and nephews…trying to see who resembles whom. (I have lots of cousins and they have kids haha. In Hindi, there's no word for cousin…everybody is your brother or sister in your generation!)

What Say You?

