Strawberries


“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours” – Swedish Proverb

Sharing my anger, confusion, fear, and sadness has been so easy. In many ways it is expected. It is all very natural, I think, that I would feel these things – and you have all been very good to me, to read them. To commiserate with me. To rage with me. To cry with me. To fear with me.

I have spent days, more like weeks, staring at a blank page titled “Add New Post” with a single cursor mark blinking at me, dumbly.

Have I truly had no words? Have all my feelings been felt?

No.

I have been afraid to write. Afraid to share. Afraid to say:

I love her

The woman who is a stranger but shares my face and speaks my words.

The woman who did not discard me to live a carefree life.

The woman who picked herself up after her children were taken from her.

The woman I lived a lifetime hating for not wanting me.

The woman who lived the same lifetime I did in a hell of her own.

The woman who has sparkles in her eyes when she smiles at me, her daughter.

I do. I really love her.

I don’t want to make anyone else feel badly because I love her and I’m really sorry if I do but I won’t help it. I won’t be angry. I won’t be mistrustful. I won’t be suspicious.

I just…will love her…

I deserve the chance to put my fears, insecurities, and self-hatreds away forever (or as long as I can manage)…

My friend Cara just awakened me to a Buddhist parable about a tiger and a strawberry :

A man traveling across a field encountered a tiger. He fled, the tiger after him. Coming to a precipice, he caught hold of the root of a wild vine and swung himself down over the edge. The tiger sniffed at him from above. Trembling, the man looked down to where, far below, another tiger was waiting to eat him. Only the vine sustained him.

Two mice, one white and one black, little by little started to gnaw away the vine. The man saw a luscious strawberry near him. Grasping the vine with one hand, he plucked the strawberry with the other. How sweet it tasted

Painting by Jason Brown

I can neither escape the past nor the future but I can face the present head-on and appreciate the beauty it offers me. My mama and my time with her is my strawberry. Please let me have it.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

10 thoughts on “Strawberries

  1. TemptingSweets99 says:

    I love both the Swedish proverb and the Buddhist parable. Beautiful! Let’s enjoy life!

  2. wiccanlady13 says:

    I love you too, baby! Looking inside yourself and acknowledging all the darkness of pain, sadness, confusion, self-doubt, it brings you closer to the light of self-healing! It makes your days, brighter and carefree. You are able to breathe deeply and move forward to life….

  3. Cara says:

    I love this interpretation of the parable! I never thought of how the tigers represent past and future. Beautiful–completely makes it all the more meaningful, friend! xoxox

  4. wildcatnova says:

    I will cut whatever bitch tries to take that strawberry.

What Say You?

