Bonnie Raitt Taught Me Everything I Need to Know About Love


I may have mentioned a time or two before that my father took me to see the New Kids on the Block for my birthday when I was in the 4th grade. It was the coolest thing ever. I wore my lavender sweatshirt that had each of the boys faces in a metallic screen print across the front. I can’t imagine that I looked anything less than cool.

Sometime shortly thereafter my musically inclined father took matters into his own hands and started introducing me to real music by real musicians. By the 6th grade, Bonnie Raitt had taught me everything I would need to know about falling in love, being in love, and knowing when to let it go.

I had a date Friday night with a guy I’d been chatting with for a few days. I was really looking forward to the date and nervous as hell. By all conversations, I knew him to be funny, quick-witted, down to earth, active, and a dog-lover. I knew on some level we’d have a nice time regardless and we did…

…but sparks??

…nope…nada…

Old Megan would push through, try again, fit a square peg into a round hole. I would let myself feel guilty for not being able to drum up excitement about this really nice guy. I’d feel mean and shallow and force myself to continue to go out with a guy I did not like. 

*I dated the Black-hole of Happiness for 2 years doing this before*
*It was a TERRIBLE decision*

But not this time. Nosirreebob. As my Bonnie taught me:

You can’t make your heart feel something it won’t.

I could try again, go on a second date, and see if something could grow. But I’ve met people before where the connection has been immediate and electric. I owe it to myself to be free to find that. I owe it to Friday-night-guy to let him find it, too.

So really, I’m doing everyone a favor here…DAMN! I’m selfless…

Bonnie Raitt also taught me that in order for my father to sit through a concert of NKOTB with me when *this* existed – meant his love for me was absolute!
About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

12 thoughts on “Bonnie Raitt Taught Me Everything I Need to Know About Love

  1. Tom Baker says:

    I agree with this, one of my favorite songs too. She is so right about other people’s feelings. Great song, great post. New Kids?

  2. TemptingSweets99 says:

    Aww! Love the last line in your post. A wonderful lesson via Bonnie and her song. Another wonderful post.

    • Thanks so much, Sweets! Knowing my dad for the musician he is, I know it was only his love for me that made him tolerate boy bands of the 90s. He and I are going to see Bonnie Saturday night for Father’s Day.

  3. wildcatnova says:

    Bonnie knew just how to handle Mr. Friday Night.

    Does she have any songs about the vertically-challenged?

  4. Addie says:

    I will never forget the song I Will Not Be Broken you introduced me to here. That reminds me I have to have a copy of it in my (new) phone’s playlist.

    • I am so glad to hear. I recommend her Luck of the Draw album. I believe this song is on that. She. Is. Wonderful. Seriously, her words have echoed in my head for ages and really helped me learn how to have pride in who I am, what I want, and how to find the best love.

What Say You?

