Faith, Hope, and Trust


There are very few things we can accomplish in our daily lives without trust. I’d even be willing to go out on a limb and say there isn’t anything we can accomlpish without it.

I believe trust to be inherent, at least initially. As babies we trust ourselves and it makes us fearless. We fearlessly take step after step because “of course we can” and our trust is so complete in ourselves and our abilities that not being able to conquer a thing, like putting a shoe on a foot, leaves us utterly frustrated. We know we can, so why can’t we?! Our trust in others is inherent, too. We have no reason to doubt things could be any other way so our trust in others is often absolute which makes keeping us safe so daunting a task for our parents.

It is the living of life in connection with people that we begin to lose this inherentness of trust. A toddler tears your favorite toy from your grasp. Mama wasn’t where you thought you had left her. A friend was trashing you behind your back. The man you had given your heart to tossed it aside. Trust becomes a prize to be earned and a gift to be given.

I understand the wisdom of this new thoughtfulness in trusting but the loss of the hope and faith which made trust so inherent saddens me greatly. I want to trust inherently again. I want to have the hope and the faith in me, again, that my trust will not be misplaced and to know that if it is it will not keep me from openly and faithfully trusting again. My trust in people is mine to give, not theirs to earn.

As I neared the top of the climb on the sharp end of the rope 5 feet beyond my last clip with no strength left in me to secure the rope in the clip near my shoulder; I let go of the wall and took the fall. As I fell passed my last clip, then the clip below that, then the clip below that, and began to near the ground, my trust in my partner was absolute, I gave it to him freely, and he caught me…3 feet off the ground. 

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

4 thoughts on “Faith, Hope, and Trust

  1. Sweet as a Picture says:

    Faith, hope and trust. Very important.

  2. wildcatnova says:

    I just about had a damn heart attack.

What Say You?

