More Than Just Enough


All I ever wanted
Was a love to be true
More than just enough to get me by
I want a love to see me through
I don’t need another well spent night
Another clever, sideways glance
I wanna look my baby in the eye
And know there’s nothin’ left to chance
So if you’re tired of bein’ lonely
Beat up and confused
Darlin’ there is only
One thing you can do
Come to me
I’ll be the one who’s waiting
Come to me
I got what you need
Come to me
Won’t be no hesitating
I know what you mean to me
I’m gonna hold out for the one I want
Ain’t gonna settle for less
Cause the kind of love I’m lookin’ for, baby
You can’t fake, you can’t finesse
I ain’t lookin’ for the kind of man, baby
Can’t stand a little shaky ground
He’ll give me fire and tenderness
And got the guts to stick around
So if you’re tired of bein’ lonely
Beat up and confused
Darlin’ there is only
One thing you can do
Come to me
I’ll be the one who’s waiting
Come to me
I got what you need
Come to me
Won’t be no hesitating
I know what you mean to me
~Bonnie Raitt (Come To Me)

I was 11 years old when I heard this song. I was 11 years old when I knew I needed/wanted/shouldn’t settle for less than a man who looked at me with love in his eyes who could stand the ups and downs of life (both mine and his). I was 11 years old when I knew the kind of love I was looking for could not be faked and would not just get by but would be enough to get through. I was 11 years old when I knew these things but didn’t have a clue what they meant.

In the last 20 years these words have been running through my head and I’ve been clearer on their meanings with every attempt to find myself, be in connection with the world around me, and become ready for the partner I ultimately hope to find. “Find” is a tragic word – I hate to say I am looking – I know these things happen when least we look and expect them to. Regardless, their meanings are clearer to me.

This weekend my dad and I went to see this woman who shaped my life at a young age.

…for the full effect a bathroom is needed for duck lips…

It was amazing. She was amazing. Had I any doubt about my life and the choices I’ve made in my life from relationship to self-awareness to career, they were put to rest watching this amazing, fierce, sexy, strong, talented woman walk on stage and share herself with the room full of adoring fans. I am proud to say I have not settled in my life and when I noticed I was in a rutted pattern I’ve had the guts to do something about it. I owe a great deal of my strength to this woman.

Dad and I pinched and poked each other like schoolgirls when Bonnie took the stage…then I cried…

And to the man who gave her to me.

Happy Father’s Day to the man who’s been there through the ups and downs of life (both mine and his)

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

16 thoughts on “More Than Just Enough

  1. I’ve never heard this song before, I don’t think or read the lyrics. It’s awesome! I gotta listen to Bonnie Raitt more often! I love the photo of you and your dad. Wonderful and fun father-daughter portrait.

  2. Same as Sweet as a Picture. I got curious about Bonnie Raitt. I’m listening to her songs right now. They’re awesome! 🙂

    Happy Father’s Day to your Dad. ;p

  3. Addie says:

    I’m not sure what really is causing me to tear up right now – the fact that you cried when Bonnie had finally taken the stage or that pic of you and your daddy puckering up because, DANG!, you two look so adorable together! *sniffs*

  4. […] Walking the Labyrinth – http://anonymousburn.com/2012/06/18/more-than-just-enough/ […]

  5. Hey there! I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award here: http://theappletizer.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/the-one-lovely-blog-award/! Congratulations and keep up the lovely blogs. 🙂

  6. wildcatnova says:

    LOVE the dual duck lips.

What Say You?

