July 2012 Meme


1. When you were a child what was the hardest or scariest thing in the world (i.e. movie, book, chore, etc.) to you that as an adult is neither hard nor scary?

I have a memory of myself at a really young age trying desparately to turn the faucet of the sink on to brush my teeth without having to use the stool provided for my lack of height. I also recall the first time I reached the faucet without the stool and instead of think “I’ve grown!” I was sure I’d just been doing something wrong. Sometimes, I think about this when I’m at home and bending down so I can lean on the sink while I stand above it brushing my teeth.

2. If you were offered the chance to be a cooking star on a Food Network show, which of these three would you choose for a mentor: Bobby Flay, Giada de Laurentis or Alton Brown?

I’d choose Alton Brown. He is such a nerd and it’s sexy. He knows a lot about the science of cooking and I like that.

3. What is your favorite theme offered by your blogging platform that you are not using and what theme do you absolutely hate? Provide links to both along with your explanation.

I don’t know really. I like my theme just fine but I’ve changed my appearance 4 times in the year since I started. I’m just trying to figure out my style which isn’t boring and there are way too many boring themes to choose from. I won’t provide links, though, because I don’t think it would be nice of me to link a theme I hated and find it belongs to one of my bestest blog friends. I like our differences.  

4. Who is someone from your past that you are sorry you lost track of?

John Morgan. We were both Chemistry majors at the University of Delaware and then he decided to go ChemEd (he totally had the right idea). We stayed friends after college and talked often but my ex-fiancé was on a jealous rampage one night and deleted every guy in my phone including my State Farm Agent. That was in 2006. John was a really good friend. It’s a pity the last conversation I had with him I told him how “the one” that d-bag was.

5. What would you take to a deserted island?

If I knew I was going to a deserted island, I would bring my girls, sunglasses, some books, sunscreen, a towel, a hammer, a needle, a water bottle, a knife, flint, and a pillow. I think that I could make whatever else I needed and survive with those things. I suspect, though, if I were to end up on a deserted island it would be because I wouldn’t know I was going. I put useless things in my purse to take up space so this wouldn’t end well. I need a purse large enough for my girls, just in case.

6. If you could get into the mind of anyone (living or dead) and read all their thoughts, whose mind would you choose to read?

I’ve known the answer to this question for a long time: Charles Manson. I don’t do his victims the dishonor of idolizing him but I am fascinated by how the mind of someone so evil would work. It’s always amazing to me when two people see or hear the same thing at the same time and yet come away with two completely different accounts of what happened. I would be intensely interested to see how different his mind processed things from mine.

7. What are the entire contents of the top drawer of the table directly next to your side of the bed?

1 romance novel, an opened bag of gummy worms, his & her lube (+ cobwebs), a journal, nail clippers.

8. What is the one thing you have in your dorm, apartment, or house that you never want your parents to find?

There’s nothing I can think of. I am a just a person, my own person. I’m sure they’d understand that and if they didn’t they would…eventually…maybe…

9. Your daughter is having a sleepover for her 12th birthday. Around 8:00 pm a thunderstorm knocks out power. How do you entertain twelve pre-teen girls when all the cell-phone batteries have died?

All the ice cream will need to be eaten PRONTO for starters. Always wanted a fireplace so I’m guessing we’ll cuddle up in front of the fire and then chit-chat about whatever it is they think is important to chit-chat about until my daughter remembers how uncool I am and shoos me away now that she knows there’s nothing to be afraid of.  

10. What aspect/trait about your personality are you most sensitive about (as in, you wouldn’t stand anyone criticizing about this one aspect)?

I’m guarded and sarcastic but I’m not mean and I’m certainly not angry. It really hurts my feelings when people suggest that I am. I’ve worked really hard to put my dark days behind me so when someone doesn’t see me for how I am now and only assumes I’m still the way I was, it really bothers me.  

11. Mr. Tom Baker has had two previous virtual nude dinner parties. He is now inviting you, his blogger friends to his home for a real nude dinner party. This is not a virtual dinner party; it is the real thing with all expenses paid and the usual five course dinner prepared by him. Will you or will you not be present at said nude party?

I’ll be there with bells on, if that’s allowed. Nudity, I found, is a lot like love…it’s a lot more about one’s self view than anyone else. I would be shy and nervous at first but I suspect I’d end up having a great time. Tom’s menus are always pretty fantastic, too!! 

12. What one piece of movie memorabilia from which movie would you love to own?

The bubbles/glass balls that Jareth, the Goblin King, has in Labyrinth. One of his final seductions of Sarah, the ball, takes place inside one. I’ve always thought they were beautiful and clear and perfect.

 

13. If literary characters were real and you could interview any one of them, who would it be and what’s the first question you would ask?

Thursday Next. She knew Mrs. Havisham before she was crazy and played a role in fixing the ending of Jane Eyre. So many questions, I’m not sure where I’d start.

14. If you had to choose a theme song for yourself from only the Classical genre, which song would it be?

In the Hall of the Mountain King. 

15. What is your most quirky habit?

Dear Friends,

Help me with this one!!

Love, Me 

16. When was the last time you took the time to act like a child and what did you do?

I try to do this as often as possible because life is too short to go around being so serious all the time. I take my girls out sometimes even if it’s pouring and we go splashing through puddles.

 

I nearly peed myself laughing the day Otto, the Saint Bernard, followed my girls into the 10′ x 10′ mud puddle and his tiny owners chased him down to keep him out of it (unsuccessfully).  

17. If there was ever a past relationship, (friend or otherwise), that you could go back and mend, would you? Who would it be with, and why?

Not mend exactly but…Mary Vaughn. She’s been one of my best friends for so long and one of the most important people in my life. Our early years together were awkward and terrible but we survived and have been friends for over 20 years. She loved me long before I learned there was anything about me to love. The past 6 years, though, we’ve been terrible at keeping in touch now that we’re grown-ups with husbands (hers) and careers. I miss the freedom we didn’t realize we had when we were 16 and spent so many days doing nothings together.  

18. What would you do if all of your followers left comments daily and would be it be too much for you to handle? Would you hire someone to answer comments for you?

I don’t have so many followers that I wouldn’t be able to handle it but if I had so many followers that I thought it was “too much” I’d be so stinking excited that I wouldn’t know what to do with myself.  

19. Do you know how far back your ancestry goes on either side of your family tree? How far?

I grew up with the last name Koska. It’s Czechoslovakian and I don’t know whether it’s more Czech or Slovak but my dad says if we say “Bohemian” we’re covered. The family immigrated into the Port of Baltimore in 1880 and the name was spelled Kocka but pronounced the same. A great-great-great grandfather’s name was Stanislaus so I’m hoping that I was adopted into a family of vampires but I’m still horribly mortal.  

20. If you could compare yourself to anything in the universe, what would you compare yourself to? Why?

A flamingo. I think flamingos are so beautiful with their multiple shades of pinks and their graceful elegance but at the same time they are terrifically awkward. You’d think they are boisterous and showy because of their brightness but I imagine they must also be incredibly shy, why else would they hide their faces in plain sight and pretend to not be seen? Flamingos and I are alike: beautiful, graceful, terribly ungraceful, bright and happy yet with a need to hide themselves in their brightness so the world cannot know their secrets until they are ready to share them.

Thanks for stopping in and reading!! Here are some other blogs participating:

2012 Community Network Meme Participation List

I Shall Be A Toad
Betwixt And Between

Micanonymous
Roshrulez’s Weblog
The World According To Sylvia Garza
Lazy Happy Bored Happy Sad
Life With Blondie
The Way I Live Naturally
WalkingTheLabyrinth

Broken Sparkles

Caroline
Bleaching Thoughts
Ramblings Of An Office Girl
Chinaz Love
Controlled Derangement
Walking The Labyrinth
Sleep And Salami
Life Of Carbon
Blue Jellybeans
SocialSistersBlog
Amber Casares
Prinsesa’s Anatomy
VeehCirra
Morning Erection

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

20 thoughts on “July 2012 Meme

  1. Addie says:

    Oh my god, Megan baby girl. The boys and I were watching Labyrinth last night here at home. I was sure I’d heard of this film before I just couldn’t place it yet. But when I finally saw the Goblin King, I thought hey doesn’t he look like David Bowie? Then I thought of you. I was gonna tell you about it last night but I guess the girls lured you into getting back in bed again.

    I can’t help snorting at most of your answers. #19 is the best. Sorry you’re still horribly a mortal. HAHA.

  2. Micah says:

    Wow your last name is teeming with history! With a possibility of being a vampire no less 😉 I honestly think vampires are sexy, aren’t they?

  3. Awesome, you’re the first one that also said she would come to Tom Baker’s party. I started to feel strange because I RSVP yes when I read some other answers.
    Yay to Thursday Next, she is also my choice. I loved Miss Havisham in the series and it made me really sad when she died! For me, a part of the souls of the entire series died right then and there as well.
    Hahaha, vampires, haha, that would be kinda funny, to discover your adoptive parents are vampires one day. Oh my.

  4. nenskei says:

    Wow, I like you curiosity @6. Now, I wonder too!
    #15 is just so cute of you.

    • Right? I’d also like to know if I have the mental strength to not be worked on by him, I hear he’s incredibly manipulative.

      I have so many quirks I just don’t know which one is my “most” one. I hate circles, love bright colors, and never step on cracks.

  5. Tom Baker says:

    Megan, great choice for songs. I forgot all about this one. It has been a staple in almost every cartoon at some point or another. i’m kinda warming up to the idea of the nude party but I don’t know if I could exactly answer the door like that! Maybe after everyone arrived we could all get naked at the same time.

    Ice cream – gotta eat the ice cream! Good thinking.

  6. Dayle Lynne says:

    Your answer to number 12 is awesome!! I love Labyrinth! And David Bowie – so sexy!

    I adore this line – “Flamingos and I are alike: beautiful, graceful, terribly ungraceful, bright and happy yet with a need to hide themselves in their brightness so the world cannot know their secrets until they are ready to share them.”

  7. Ooooh, Charles Manson! Great answer – it’d be more than a little bit freaky but really fascinating!

  8. Mariana says:

    You’re the first person I’ve seen accept Tom’s offer! Hahaha. Good to know he wouldn’t be alone at his party.

    I really love you answer to the last question. It’s very beautiful. 🙂

  9. Miko says:

    Hi! I like your answers in 11, 19 and 20. Cheers to the brave ones who’s going to attend Tom’s paarteey! Hmmm, for some reason, whenever I hear the word vampire I end up connecting it to Twilight.Twilight?! Goodness sheeesh, crazy me.

What Say You?

