Restless Nights


As the night creeps on I finally put myself to bed.
Computer, off. Book, closed. Phone, silenced. Eyes, shut.
It’s 11 o’clock.
Tick tock.
Awake I lay with my eyes closed relaxing all the muscles in my body to lull myself to sleep.
It’s 12 o’clock.
Tick tock.
Sigh.
Flip off the covers.
Pull out my trusty notebook and pen.
Write yet another version of a graduate school essay.
The words now written down.
It’s 1 o’clock.
Tick tock.
My eyes aren’t even heavy.
Headphones, in. Music, on.
” ‘Cause there is no guarantee that this life is easy.”
How can I quiet the noise in my head?
When can I find a restful sleep?
The answer is simple:
Let go of that which you have no control.
Take in hand that which you do.
It’s 2 o’clock.
Tick tock.
 
About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

One thought on “Restless Nights

  1. I bet that was a kick-ass essay you wrote. 😉

What Say You?

