Are you those people?


Are you, mama?

Are you one of those people?

It is my second least favorite question directed at the girls. The first is “are they pitbulls?” You just don’t know whether or not to be fearful until you know for sure. But, I digress.

So, am I one of those people?

If by that you mean someone who knows that if it is cold enough for me to wear a jacket then it is cold enough for them to wear a jacket. Then, yes. Sigh. I am one of those people: responsible.

Green is my color!

Crazy, right? Just as crazy as when mom makes sure Mr. Baby’s summer wardrobe has been traded in for long sleeves, pants, and socks because it’s gotten cool outside. So very crazy.

Some dogs don’t need as much protection from the elements because they have big, warm, natural coats of fur. Many dogs, like mine, are not so lucky. Analaigh only has a single coat of fur and and you can still see Rose’s freckled skin through both of her coats. It’s easier for folks to accept when they see a tiny dog dressed to the nines. It’s just more acceptable somehow…but show someone a picture of my girls in their fleece jackets and I get eye rolls and exaggerated sighs.

I dare you to look into this face and say, “No, Rose, you are too big and strong to be dressed appropriately for the weather” then wait because she’s a drama queen and will shiver uncontrollably to make her point.

Now…am I one of those people who dresses up my dogs in ridiculous outfits and stuffs them into my purse? Well, there was that time at Summersville Lake at the New River Gorge when I had to shove both girls (separately) into my pack so I could carry them down the ladder to get to the crag for climbing…and anything else that may have happened around Halloween last year the girls have would have destroyed any evidence (had there been any which there most certainly was not).

If you are curious, our favorite brand is Ruffwear. I like their fit the best and they have multiple options depending on your clime and what groovy things you do year-round with your pooch. Pictured above is the Climate Changer Fleece which I love, love, love.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

9 thoughts on “Are you those people?

  1. Nylabluesmum says:

    Hello from Canada: My name is Sherri-Ellen & I have a blog here also. “Nylablue & SherriEllens’s Purrfect Pad”. Altho a cat lover I do love all animals. I loved your blog about coats for your pitties!!! I think they look fabulous in their sweaters!!! Why IS it little dogs can be dressed for the weather but not regular sized dogs with little fur??
    Your pitties are gorgeous!! We are pro pitbull up here where I am & our local Shelter mascot is a white pittie named HUSH who is deaf & responds to hand commands!!!
    I hope you will pop over to the PAD & check us out.
    Bye for now, Sherri-Ellen..oh & NYLABLUE TOO!!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and comment. I’m always glad to hear from pittie supporters! It’s really frustrating when people poke fun and call me obsessed just because my dogs have sweaters. I’m obsessed but it has nothing to do with winterwear. I can’t wait to stop in and visit you over at your blog! Take care, Megan, Rose, and Analaigh.

      • Nylabluesmum says:

        Hi Megan: It is lovely to meet you too. Alot of people are so scard of pitbulls just like they are of Rottweilers or Dobermans. It is so sad as there are more good dogs than bad dogs…it is not the breed; it is how the dogs were raised!! I am an avid spokeperson about this.
        The unfortunate part is people ‘remember’ bad Pitties or Dobbies very easily.
        As for the winterwear it just makes sense!!! My friend had a Greyhound for many years & that dog had some of the BEST sweaters & booties & even her own raincoat!!!
        All the best to you & Rose & Analeigh from Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue (who actually likes dogs altho’ she pretends she doesn’t!)

  2. Dogs need to keep warm, too. Their outfits look nice and comfortable.

  3. Angel&Chaos says:

    Hi Megan. We too are in Canada. Winnipeg to be exact, and we get really really cold here with lots of snow. we’ve seen big dogs in sweaters and booties here too. And not to make the dogs look cute, but to protect them from the cold and their paw pads from the salt. So to those people who question mommies of furry babies about how they take care of them, don’t know any better.

  4. Addie says:

    I love the sweater and obviously Analaigh pulled it off…with utter sophistication. 🙂

  5. We’re “those people”. We didn’t realize that dogs could need coats because Badger has pretty thick fur, but Mushroom has hardly any fur and shivered all last winter. So we got her a coat, but it seems she dislikes the coat more than the cold, and she’s making a point not to shiver or whine outside, even if it is really cold now!

    • Anonymous Burn says:

      Oh no! I’m sorry she hates her coat. Rose is the opposite she’ll make herself shiver on a warm day just to get me all atwitter 🙂

      I don’t mind being a “those people” because I like other “those people” a lot more than I like “not those people”.

What Say You?

