Rainy Days and Rope Toys


I can hear the pitter pat of rain drops before I’m even out of bed. “Great!” I say to myself, “soon enough mama is going to get up, put on her shoes, put on my leash, and take me out in this!” It hardly seems fair that she gets to go potty in a special room and I get to go potty out in the rain.
What I really want to know is…what the heck are we going to do with the REST of the day??

Hmmm, mama? Hmmmm??

oOo!! Looks like we’re making rope toys for me an’ Analaigh to play with. We LOVE rope toys. Mama must have a millionty dollars because whenever we use up one BAM another takes it’s place!!

(No, Rose, not a millionty dollars…it’s FREE!! Love, Mama)

Here is how we make them…

1) Lay out an old tee-shirt. The larger, the better

2) Cut off sleeves.

3) Cut shirt in 4 parts. I cut up the sides along the seam all the way to the collar and up the center (and back) to the collar.

4) Gather collar and hold in place for braiding. (By using the collar at one end, the rope is longer because only 1 knot is needed to end it)

5) Take left-most strand and moving over, under, over braid to end.

6) Secure end with a knot.

7) Send to Quality Control for inspection

8) Voila!

Tug responsibly!!!

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

6 thoughts on “Rainy Days and Rope Toys

  1. I should try this. We abandoned the idea of soft toys because Badger instantly destroys them, but if they’re free and made of old shirts we would throw out anyway, it’s worth a shot!

  2. Addie says:

    It’s always a never-ending towel tug-of-war between me and Jord every bath time. He’s never really liked the hard toys I give him. About time I steal this idea.

    • Anonymous Burn says:

      The girls really do love these toys and they are cheap and take the same amount of time for them to tear through as it would the $20 “indestructible” toys I’ve bought for them in the past.

What Say You?

