Beautiful Dreamer – Stephen Foster


Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about my childhood: the foods I ate, the dolls I loved, the games I played, the stories I cherished.

I had a music box. It was a simple 4″ x 3″ x 3″ wooden box with a picture of two woodland children glued to the front. It wasn’t a gift I got, it must have been one of those things my mom decided little girls should have so when I came home that very first day it was just there. I was so fasinated by the twinkling sound that came from, what appeared to me as, complex gears.

The twinkling song it played was Beautiful Dreamer.

Beautiful dreamer, wake unto me,
Starlight and dewdrops are waiting for thee;
Sounds of the rude world, heard in the day,
Lull’d by the moonlight have all pass’d away!
Beautiful dreamer, queen of my song,
List while I woo thee with soft melody;
Gone are the cares of life’s busy throng,
Beautiful dreamer, awake unto me!
Beautiful dreamer, awake unto me!

Beautiful dreamer, out on the sea
Mermaids are chanting the wild lorelie;
Over the streamlet vapors are borne,
Waiting to fade at the bright coming morn.
Beautiful dreamer, beam on my heart,
E’en as the morn on the streamlet and sea;
Then will all clouds of sorrow depart,
Beautiful dreamer, awake unto me!
Beautiful dreamer, awake unto me!

Some how over the past 9 years and during the last 10 moves I have misplaced my music box. Maybe it’s in a box in my mother’s attic still waiting for the day when I find my own home; a place to move into; a place to hang pictures on walls; a place that is mine.

I’ve been waiting for that place and I very nearly found it that time.
But not quite.

When I am with Matthew I have hope in finding that place. I think about placing a music box on the night stand while I’m wrapped in the arms of the one who wants me as I am, drifting off to sleeping humming Beautiful Dreamer to myself.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

What Say You?

