Homemade Oat Bread


When I knew I wanted to start making my breads myself because I’m just too lazy to pick up and put down a gazillion items after scouring the ingredient labels, I went online in search of flour.

The reasons why aren’t super important, mostly it’s a result of my continued laziness and lack of desire to have to go to multiple stores in an attempt to locate exactly what I want, and this week has taught me, that that is, in fact, something I would have had to do. So I found Bob’s Red Mill and saw they had what I was looking for and more (good, wholesome, natural, organic ingredients at the *click* of my finger).

My supplies came yesterday and using one of Bob’s recipes, I set to work making Oat Bread this morning. Here you go:

Ingredients

1 Tbsp Active Dry Yeast

1 1/2 tbsp Turbino (WeverTFthatis) Sugar

1 1/4 c. warm Water

1 1/2 tsp Salt

1 1/2 tsp Safflower Oil

2 Tbsp Oat Bran Cereal

1/4 c. Rolled Oats

1 c. Whole Wheat Flour

2 c. All-purpose White Flour

What to do with it all

In a large bowl mix the yeast, sugar, and warm water. let rest for a few minutes. Stir in the remaining ingredients in the order given. Turn dough out on a well-floured pastry cloth and knead until smooth and elastic, adding more flour as needed to prevent sticking. Place dough in a large oiled bowl and cover with a towel. Set bowl in a warm place and let dough rise until doubled in bulk (about 1 hr). Then punch dough down and turn onto lightly floured pastry cloth, shape into loaf. Place in an oiled bread pan, cover with towel and let rise again. Place oven rack in the cneter of the oven and place bread pan on center rack. Bake at 425°F for 25 minutes or until done.

Comments on the dish from the food critics in my life

I thought it would be bigger, honestly.

It could be that I made some changes and perhaps I should not screw something up before making changes but, seriously, WTF is Turbino Sugar? I also didn’t use All-Purpose white flour because…well, wheat is just not a nutritionally valuable grain. I’d rather use it sparingly if possible. I’m not allergic to gluten or wheat so eating shitty gluten-free bread isn’t necessary. Turns out some alternate flours still need to be bulked up with wheat so I used Hard Red Wheat and Oat flours for this bread. Also, it does say to “punch” down but I’ve got anger issues and I kind of punched the dough in the face a few times.

I haven’t eaten it yet, I’m still waiting for it to cool. But I’ll update this when I do. Smells good, though.

Update: YUMMY!

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

What Say You?

