Meatless, Bean-free chili


I’m 99.9% positive you are thinking “What’s the point?”

Right? I mean, sure vegetarian chili is easy either use a soy-based “ground beef” substitute or just go bean-crazy. But if you choose not to go meaty, soy substitutes aren’t a possibility, and beans are a no-no then you should just hang it up.

Well, I refuse! I just plain re-effing-fuse. I love chili. I love the comfort of sitting and eating a filling bowl of something hearty. I love the flavor of cayenne, chili, chipotle, and cumin. I love the heat. And by jove, I’m going to find a way to git me some.

So I visited my very favorite website: allrecipes.com and typed search words: vegetarian, beanless, chili and scrolled through the results. I found a recipe for Quinoa and Black Bean Chili. I’ve made modifications. Here we go.

Ingredients

1 c. uncooked, rinsed quinoa

2 c. water

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 chopped onion

4 chopped garlic cloves

1 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp cumin powder

28 oz crushed tomato

1 chopped orange bell pepper

1 chopped red bell pepper

1 jalapeno (seeded, minced)

2 cubed yellow squash

1 tbsp chipotle in adobo sauce

1 c. vegetable broth

1 c. frozen corn

What to do with it all

Bring quinoa and water to boil over high heat, reduce and simmer until tender and all water is absorbed (15-20 minutes) and then set aside. In a large pot heat olive oil and saute onions and peppers until translucent and soft. Add tomato, chili powder, cumin, garlic, squash, chipotle, vegetable broth bring to simmer over high heat, reduce and simmer for 20 minutes. Add quinoa and corn, cook 5 more minutes and serve.

Comments on the dish from the food critics in my life

Wow! Jason and I were discussing whether or not this would be edible for his 5-year-old daughter who will be eating dinner here today so we each tasted it. My reaction was “Holy sh’t! It’s actually good” and Jason said “Too hot for Emmy but, like, I want to eat it later”. That’s a win in my book.

Additional feedback: fellow healthy eater and TWO meat-eating coworkers both agreed that it was “actually good.”

Oh! OOOH! Huge PS for those who aren’t super familiar with cooking lingo. Seeded jalapeno means ain’t got no. I made that mistake once. I only made it once. I had the cleanest sinuses after eating that chili but it was painfulish.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

What Say You?

