Farewell – Apocalyptica


The music that most affects me is the music with the most compelling, applicable story. As a musician (a mediocre pianist) I can appreciate instrumental pieces but rarely can I understand the story. This song is instrumental but something about it hit me. I had this song play on repeat for days trying to understand what it was saying.

When I found the story, I sent it to my dad and made him play my game and listen 3 times. First listen to the song, then read the story and listen, and finally listen to it again, eyes closed. You are welcome to do the same. If I am right, your final listen will be different.

So, here is what I heard…(hopefully you can hear the phrasing easily)

Two lovers wake up wrapped in each other. They stretch and begin to fully wake up and remember it is the last morning they’ll spend together. He has to go.

She asks: Do you really have to go? Can’t you just stay. I just can’t bear when you are way from me.

He responds: You know I would never leave you if I didn’t have to. I can’t imagine not being here, but I have to go. But I will be home soon.

Chorus, him: You know I have to go. You know I hate to go. You know that I can’t be where you are not but there is no choice.

She coyly asks (probably in lingerie): Are you sure you have to go? Are you sure we can’t find something better to do than say goodbye?

He responds: Don’t you know how much I want you? You don’t need to seduce me. There’s nothing I want more than to stay here with you.

Chorus, him: You know I have to go. You know I hate to go. You know that I can’t be where you are not but there is no choice

He leaves: Every step away from her is painful. His footsteps are heavy. But each step farther makes him stronger, he knows that he’ll be back. The sooner he leaves the sooner he came come back to her. The crescendo is the conviction that leaving is okay. It will be fine. He’ll be home again soon.

Chorus, him: In a letter or a dream he’s trying to convey to her across space and time. He doesn’t want to be gone from her and it’s not easy but soon, soon we’ll be together again. You know I had to leave you. You know I couldn’t stand doing it, but I had to and I’ll be home soon.

She: Desperate. Heart broken. Soul shattered. There is a realization he will never come home again.

There are parts of the story I don’t know, like where he’s going and why he has to go and how she ends up so broken. I think he must be heading off to war because the love is strong and the desire to come home is real but somehow, she is left crippled by the pain of his loss. I don’t believe the pain is merely from his leaving but of him being taken from her.

Yeah…this is what I do with my time. So what?!

(PS – I would kill to see these guys live so, uhm, feel free to let me know if you wanna go to Finland)

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

2 thoughts on “Farewell – Apocalyptica

  1. pennypup says:

    Wow. I could so picture your story in my head. It’s such a sad song, and the story makes it even more so.
    I think your story goes along perfectly well with the melody. It makes the song make much more sense to me.

    I would also love to see Apocalyptica live.. but I doubt I could make the trip to Finland with two babies in tow haha.

    • Thanks! It a beautiful song. I’m glad you like my story.

      They played in Philly at a big rock concert in July. I’m KICKING myself for not going alone since I couldn’t find someone to go with me.

What Say You?

