I. Met. Someone.


 

BREATHE

You may remember I got my heart broken.

You may then remember there was a guy, The Voice. He was there and I was there and we weren’t looking for a “thing” but we wanted some companionship but only when it suited and emotions never suited so it was business, strictly business…er, not in a money exchanged hands way, though. But that was fine. That was all I wanted because relationships = bad and labels = bad and marriage = stupid and all those things I thought I wanted, once upon a time, were silly.

Then you may remember the psychic and the dark object and my revelation that I was getting in my own way.

So then, remember, I got that message from the heart breaker and we met and it was nice.

Okay…now that we are all caught up…

Let’s go back to how nice it was to be apologized to for wrongs done. At the time, I didn’t know how nice or what it would all mean but that’s the way of it…things happen as they will when they will and we see the lesson when we are ready because that is how life works…

The apology crept inside to the bitter, fractured pieces of my heart that I allowed to ooze poison and it drew out the venom, I knew I’d been keeping myself from being open. Not only do I NOT think that relationships are bad, labels are bad, and marriage is stupid…they are the only things that I think this life is worth living for. They are the only things that I have ever thought this life was worth living for. Judge me how you will for thinking love is the thing we should all strive for but it is the truth. At the very least, it is my truth.

Don’t get me wrong, I am a strong, independent woman. I can, and have for a very long time, take(n) care for myself. But without someone to share life with, it just all seems so sad and hopeless.

Sad and hopeless have been done. I am ready to move on.

I looked around and took stock and realized, I had the dreaded feelings for The Voice but that was simply not going to do. In the words of Barney Beagle:

“He is not my boy. Anyone can see that!”

… … …

Caroline, let’s get dressed up and go out! I’m ready to meet people!

So, er, where do people go?

We realized that we didn’t know where to go because we are not people, we are homebodies. I don’t do clubs, I do rock gyms and dog parks and I certainly don’t need to look cute to go there.

Because I am one damn sexy climber

While nibbling on a delectable homemade pizza a few Thursdays ago the night found us…er, Caroline…creating a profile on Match.com.

No comments from the peanut gallery on the extra half-inch I claimed (Mary Jo, shut it!)

BREATHE!

There, I said it. I went to Match.com and I begged the internet Gods to go forth and find me a man who met my qualifications (tall, athletic, intelligent, loves dogs). I’ve got all the time in the world to peruse and pick and choose and find someone who works for me. Why not? I’ve spent all this time doing it wrong anyway…

The next day at noon I got an e-mail from Matt.

That Sunday we met for lunch at 2pm at a local diner. We talked and smiled and laughed so hard we cried and at 7:30 we asked the waitress for dinner menus.

…swoon…

I met someone. A pretty great someone.

And if he turns out to not be the someone for me then I will be glad for my 6-month membership and my openness to finding my match.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

13 thoughts on “I. Met. Someone.

  1. Cowboy says:

    Good luck !

  2. Cara says:

    Yay! I love stuff like this. Greg and I actually met online as well and it’s been 5 years… Who knew the internet is an actual great place to find someone special?! I had so much fun going back to previous posts about the psychic and such and seeing how everything has come together. Amazing. Cannot wait to hear more about this boy…

    • It made me laugh when I realized, it’s all been documented here…the process of pain and recovery…

      Wow, you and Greg 5 years? Gives me a twinge of hope. I was engaged about 5-6 years ago to a bloke I met on Match, so I was wary to say the least. But seriously, Caroline and I just looked at each other dumbfounded about *where* we would go.

      Ladderbum wasn’t the only guy who emailed but he started off in the middle of a conversation, no awkward introductions, just like I like things. Funny, attractive, nice, treats me good…it’s a nice thing to remember what it should be like. It’s just been so terribly long since I put down my guard long enough.

      • Cara says:

        If anything, it is just so nice to know there are decent men out there that you *can* connect with, you know?

        It’s funny because so many of my friends who are now married met their significant others online too. Never been more grateful to an online dating site 🙂 I would have missed out on the love of my life…

        Again, so happy for you!!

  3. Addie says:

    Well, what a nice February start! You know I’m your copycat, Megan, right? Wall climbing, breathing, etc. Not to mention your words are what I live by. So, uhm…this Match.com thingy, how does it work again? Te-hee…

    • You are amazingly sweet, Addie. Here is a way for you to *market* yourself. You get to say “Hey World (and dateable guys) this is who I am, what I like to do, what I’m looking for, and what I woud like to find in a match” then the world, and dateable guys will come knock, knock, knockin’ at your door. You can view their profiles, be a selective as you want because there really are plenty of fish in the sea, and use email as the screening process. You will find some duds for sure, but more than likely, you’ll find a nice guy looking for a nice girl, just like you.

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    You’re adventurous 🙂 I think I need to dare a dating site…

    Loved the way you wrote this & all the perfect pictures in between 🙂

    • Thank you so much 🙂 At the end of the day, I have to know I tried. To try and fail is fine but to not try and continue sitting around and complaining about it is unforgiving to me.

      I think maybe you should, too. There’s a confidence building that comes with the process I wasn’t expecting that put a little extra pep in my step.

  5. Cyn says:

    I met Mike on Match. 10 years this year. Love ya.

  6. pennypup says:

    Oooooh!!! *squee!*

    I am SO excited for you! I dabbled in the online dating thing aaaaages ago. I did the free stuff though.. and free dating sites = really bad dates!

    I thought about Match, but then I ended up meeting my love at work of all places!

    Good luck! I expect to read about date number two soon!

    • Work is a really common place to meet people, I think, since it is where we spend so much of our time. This is all very new and exciting. I’m not even sure what date we are on now. Maybe 4th? 5th?

      Free dating = really bad dates, I can agree with that. My blind date experiences have always left something to be desired. Hahahahah

What Say You?

