Tarot, Tarot, On the Wall Who’s the Fairest of them all?


A few months ago I was reading around on Addie’s blog and she posted about consulting a tarot reader. This is something I have always wanted to do.

((I’m not sure what it says about me believing in the ability of someone to tap into and perhaps advise me on my past, present, and future when I don’t subscribe to the idea of the existence of god but I know that I have had a past, am living my present, and have a future so I don’t think it’s terribly far-fetched to believe there are people who have the ability to see that just because I can’t. I’m not sure what it says and I also don’t care.))

Since I moved to my new place my new route to work takes me by Kay’s. A tarot and palm reader. Psychic Readings the sign says in neon lights. I’ve felt a pull within me stronger and stronger to pop in and see what I saw. I mean, why not? I’ve got nothing to lose. This walking the metaphorical labyrinth is all about doing what moves me. It’s about making the choices that pull me toward them.

Today on my way home from another doggy day marathon, I stopped at Kay’s. The smell of incense assaulted me as I got out of the car. If I have ever watched movies about gypsies (and I have) and if I have ever thought about what a gypsy would look like, how one would dress, how one would talk (done, done, and done)…Kay met my expectations.

She walked me into a back room and sat me down. We went through a small introduction during which I bit my tongue instead of ask her what she thought my name was. She explained to me that she reads palms which will only tell me my past, present, and future but the tarot will tell her all that and more and help her help me, should the cards also say I need it. I’ve been seeing a shrink for 12 years, I don’t need to be psychic to know that, of course, I’m going to need it.

So tarot it is.

I shuffled my cards. I made two wishes. One, I shared with her (please o please o please o please, let me get into graduate school). The other one I keep in my heart (probably best that wish stays close to its subject matter so they can keep each other warm at night).

…Off we go…

I see for you, darling, you will live a long life.

I see also for you, dear, that money is of little consequence to you. You don’t always have it, you find it’s been a struggle, but you know that it comes and it goes and it’s always there when you need it but you don’t really care about being rich.

True but I run through my mental statistical calculator to think of how many people this exact thing would also be true for (lots of folks, I’m guessing). Then I mentally shake myself for my negativity, I came here. Let’s do this thing.

I see that you love strongly. You love deeply. You do for others a lot and you rarely ask for anything in return. You do not rely on other people. You have learned to rely only on yourself. You are someone who cries but you keep it in your heart where no one else can see it.

 “Go on,” I think to Kay, “oOo, do you think that Kay can hear this? Hmmm.”

There was a man. He hurt you. This was recent? (nod) He hurt you deeply. He hurt you because he was changing. Not with you but against you. He was changing in a way that you didn’t understand. I’m sorry to have to tell you but there was someone else involved. He couldn’t be with you because there was someone new but he is not happy with her.

It is Saturday night at I’m at a psychic’s. I stink from the dogs and my sweatpants are unattractively 5 times too big for me. I think the fact that I am single might as well be tattooed across my face and as I’m obviously not 15 there is a safe bet there was a man and he hurt me. I know I’m ruining the process, though. I don’t even want to talk about Ryan anymore. Can’t he just go away. 

He is going to try to come back into your life.

This I supremely doubt. Ryan is a man of pride. He will not come stumbling back. What’s more I am a woman of pride. There would be no conversation. I know the weakness of my heart toward him, I saw it a few weeks ago as I physically longed for him as I watched him from across the room, but it simply would not happen. But seriously, can’t he just go away. Get out of my head, get out of my psychic’s head, just go away.

But you won’t let him. Or I really hope that you won’t.

Agreed.

I want to go back to your past. Way, way back into your past. Back to your teen years.

Widely known fact about me: I’m adopted. Like my father died and my mother neglected me in a way that had social service confiscate me and put me in foster care. I was adopted when I was 3. Personally, I don’t think Kay is digging far back enough. But she’s the psychic. I was an angsty teenager so okay…it’s not completely out of the question. Shoot.

You were an unhappy teenager. You weren’t close to your parents. No, you were close to one. Who were you not close to?

I feel like I’m doing all the work here, Kay. But, of course, my mother. I was a teenager and I’m a girl and let’s face it…mothers are always getting a bad rap. It usually starts around the age of 12 and lasts until one or both of us die.

You did not feel close to your mother because you did not feel as though she saw you. You have brothers and sisters but you always felt outside. You never felt exactly as though you fit.

This has to be pretty common and yet, I sit there weeping. Learning the word “replaceable” at the age of 3 is too much knowledge for one so young.

As she stands up to grab me a tissue she delivers the bad news:

A dark object has crossed your aura. It is blocking you from being happy and lucky in love.

Some time in your past this dark object twisted your life force. You love and you love deeply but love never stays with you. It always leaves you. It is because of this dark force. It is not just in love but in life, in your happiness. You work really hard and you are a good person and things seem to be going okay and then they aren’t. This happens in all things that you do. Until you find and remove this dark object, your life will continue as it is.

By this point, I have fallen hook, line, and sinker under the spell. I’m on the edge of my seat, clutching my tissue.

For just $130, I can help you find and fix this dark force. (insert rimshot)

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

7 thoughts on “Tarot, Tarot, On the Wall Who’s the Fairest of them all?

  1. addielicious says:

    Haha. The instant rimshot was hilarious. Like I played it over and over again. My reading wasn’t that much fun as you thought it was. I had negative thoughts all throughout but worried that it would backfire, I just ‘acted’ like the I was impressed and believing.

    Well, it backfired nonetheless. (insert rimshot)

    If only finding and fixing our life’s dark forces were as affordable as $130 (Php 6,000), I’d definitely buy it.

  2. suzymarie56 says:

    I have a feeling it was so ominous because the prospect of money was involved. I’m sorry you felt like your reading went that way. I’m sure that spiritualists aren’t supposed to provide you with completely negative reading so it’s unfortunate that that’s what you got.
    And you will find someone who makes being soft not feel like that anymore. After what it seems you’ve been through, it’s not really surprise that you have defence mechanisms in place. But someone will make that easier for you one day. x

    • Ryan, my ex, was the first person I ever met who called me sweet. I was 28 when I met him. I found the softness I didn’t know was there because of loving him. So I know it’s there. Kay also told me, quite rightly, that I’m really afraid of loving again. Prolly didn’t take psychic powers for that one. And right now I feel like cut glass. I’m bummed for sure about my experience because, like I said, it’s something I’ve always wanted to do and it is something that I do believe in. I’m verklempt about going back, though. She’s very heavily drumming my belief in God as a driving force. Shopping around for a spiritualist who suits me better just seems so wrong.

  3. I am dying to do this some day… If you ever decide to try someone new, let me know.

    • I need to find one who doesn’t think the path to my future involves my believe in a one true god. STAT! Let’s do it, pronto!

    • Chadia says:

      Hey, if you can figure out the lotto nuermbs, or give something a little push to bring you money, why not? Big thing is for the highest good, and with harm to none.(So I’d pass on selling my soul to the guy with the cards up there.)But I think we all deserve to live comfortably. Or better. So wherever money comes from as long as I hold intent that it come from a perfect place I just say thank you, and accept it gratefully!

What Say You?

