My7DayDiet: Day 1 and Why


As you may or not know this clean(ish) eater, oft-vegetarian who loves her some bean salad, edamame frittata, dark chocolate almond milk, her morning cup of hazelnut coffee, and a nice cool lager to close the day found out she was allergic to beans, soy, almonds, hazelnut, and barley in October.

That’s cool, World. I can do this.

November was a month of figuring things out. I cooked for myself a delicious legume and barley free Thanksgiving dinner on that fateful Thursday laughing at the idea that *this* was going to knock me down.

Then December happened. I turned another year older, contracted a 2(ish) week plague, and spent another Christmas not waking up in the warm embrace of anyone special.

Lower that eyebrow, Judgy-Judgestein.

THIS, friends, is what knocked me down.  It didn’t just knock me down but it put its foot in the center of my chest cutting off my air supply, my ability to get up, and eventually my will to bother. And I hate myself for it.

Get it together, Megan.

So I made a pact with myself. It’s not a resolution because eating clean is a thing I like to do and do regularly, like life-ish-stylish, I just fall off the wagon face first into a basket of bread from time to time.

This 7 day diet plan came up in a google search a few years ago when I was in a similar predicament. I like it because it’s not lemonade and chili powder. I like it because I’m allowed to eat as much as I want on any given day. That’s perfect for one who munches at her desk all day while mind-numbingly updating EXCEL spreadsheets…it’s also perfect for recovering from fat-kid days. I don’t like the word d-i-e-t, for me, it’s not about that. I need to jump-start my ass back on the track that helps me feel good about my mind, body, and soul. I do it to for the full body detox to optimize body function. I do it because it’s a balanced diet for one full week with food choices including all the carbs, protein, fiber, and vitamins and minerals I need.

It starts today.

Day 1: Fruit

I soyed myself last night so I have a massive headache but other than that I’m doing groovy. I’m amazed at the deliciousness of the cantaloupe I found in December. I have a big ole fruit salad for lunch (pineapple, cantaloupe, berries [rasp and blue], peaches, and kiwi).

NOM!

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

2 thoughts on “My7DayDiet: Day 1 and Why

  1. Addie says:

    All I’m seeing is a periodic table of elements. What’s up, nerd? 😀

    • Ha! I want a really large framed one for home! The 3 years I was an active member of ACS (American Chemical Society) they were giving away periodic table throw blankets to members who referred new members. Unfortunately…no one I ever tried to refer joined. Hi. I’m a nerd and I’m proud.

What Say You?

