Homemade Begetable Soup


Another fridge filled with veggies about to outlive their usefulness. They’ve been hanging around for a little over a week and if they weren’t cooked pronto they were going in the trash and we all know how I feel about wastefulness (me no likey). So’s I made myself a soup. Yay!

Ingredients

2 heads of broccoli, chopped

3 small sweet onions, chopped

1 container of cherry tomatoes, halved

2 red bell peppers, chopped

1/2 zucchini, chopped

1 c cooked brown rice

32 oz vegetable broth

32 oz water

1 tsp chipotle chili powder

1 tsp ground black pepper

1/2 tsp crushed red peppers

What to do with it all

Throw it in pot. Boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat and simmer for an hour or so.

Seriously...delish

Comments on the dish from the food critics in my life

I am turning into a regular pro at using up the rest o my veggies and turning it into something fantastic and oh so tasty. If’n you aren’t so much in to hot food, you can spice to your own taste. It’s not super hot but it’ll leave your tongue tingley.

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Begetable Soup

  1. melissa gray says:

    Love you idea for using up veggies – will give your recipe a try! I’m always trying to find new ways to use veggies before they go bad, just hate wasting them. Another great idea – throw them all on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and add some garlic cloves, roast in hot oven, then puree in blender (you can add a little white wine or broth), makes a great pasta sauce (you can also add a little shredded parm or cream when heating). Happy cooking 🙂

  2. Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to
    my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched
    her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

What Say You?

