My Project 365: A Dog A Day (Day 25)


Day 25

My Project 365: A Dog A Day

I will select a dog a day to share here.

A dog that is sheltered or fostered in the continental US.

A dog that needs a loving home.

A dog that wants a second chance.

Chancz

A letter to ShortysRescue

Dear Rescue Team,
Late October, 2011, I was contacted by a friend who had seen a dog hiding under a bush in the desert near a park by her home in northwest Las Vegas.  His entire story and photos can be found at: http://www.movemutt.org/Chancz.html.

The short version is that I have a VERY small animal welfare non-profit that specializes in behavior modification through exercise therapy for shelter & rescue dogs.  While in the process of building a $1.25 million training/boarding/day care and rescue facility in Boise, Idaho, I was bitten by a dog and ended up in septic shock which led to the amputation of the fingers on my right hand, as well as a myriad of other physical issues.  The full story is at: http://www.movemutt.org/Asplenia–Dog-Bites—Sepsis.html.  After awaking from a coma in late 2008, I was told that my business had been dissolved and the bank had taken the property.  I had to move in with my family in Las Vegas so that I could have assistance with my rehabilitation.  I have not let this deter me, however, I currently have no facility to take in rescued dogs.  I also have little to no experience with Pit Bulls. 

After getting this beautiful blue/brindle pit out of the desert, I took him to my boyfriends house until we could figure out what to do (I live with my parents and have already brought 2 dogs and 2 cats into their home in addition to another dog they already had, so a stray pit was a definite NO) .  I also took him to the vet and had him neutered and vaccinated.  The biggest problem is that he has demodectic mange.  The woman who originally saw him is currently paying for his treatment, but at $200 every 2 weeks and a prognosis of recovery anywhere from 8 weeks to one year, I don’t know how much longer that will last.  This is an amazing dog with an even more amazing personality.  I have contacted all the local Pit Bull rescue and none have room to take him.  We have been actively working on adopting him, taking him to events every weekend and posting him on our website and social media pages, but with his skin condition, most people are worried about the expense and possible recurrence.

We are going to have a booth at the Vegas Pet Expo on February 11th where Shorty is scheduled to appear.  I was hoping that I could talk you into having Shorty stop by our booth to see this beautiful guy and possibly offer some advice.  If he wants to take him on as a project, that would be awesome, but if not – even an endorsement by Shorty while he’s speaking, on your website, on TV – just anything at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time and hopefully your help!

Renée

Canine Behavior Consultant

(702) 561-6264

www.MoveMutt.org

www.KineticK9.com

About Anonymous Burn

I'm just a girl who has a blog. But I'm kinda groovy, too.

What Say You?

